Jump to content

Dropped Ball with Runners


NavyBlue

Recommended Posts

NFHS.  What's the ruling if...with a runner(s), F1 in the stretch or set, F1 drops the ball and it rolls across the foul line?

Rule 6-1-4 addresses dropping a ball during PITCH, which this is not.

Rule 6-2-4a addresses ANY dropping of a ball while TOUCHING the pitching plate, but it does not explicitly tell us what to rule if the ball crosses the foul line, only what to do it if does not.

Why not just delete reference to the foul line in 6-2-4a?  If F1 drops the ball while touching and it's not part of a pitch, make it a balk.  Why the distinction, and if the distinction is important, why not address what happens when it crosses the foul line?  Thanks.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, NavyBlue said:

NFHS.  What's the ruling if...with a runner(s), F1 in the stretch or set, F1 drops the ball and it rolls across the foul line?

Rule 6-1-4 addresses dropping a ball during PITCH, which this is not.

Rule 6-2-4a addresses ANY dropping of a ball while TOUCHING the pitching plate, but it does not explicitly tell us what to rule if the ball crosses the foul line, only what to do it if does not.

Why not just delete reference to the foul line in 6-2-4a?  If F1 drops the ball while touching and it's not part of a pitch, make it a balk.  Why the distinction, and if the distinction is important, why not address what happens when it crosses the foul line?  Thanks.

 

If they drop the ball with runners on, while engaged with the pitchers plate, it’s a balk.  In every rule set.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

27 minutes ago, Senor Azul said:

It is considered to be a pitch if an in-contact pitcher drops the ball and it then rolls across a foul line. The pitch would be called a ball.

If he drops it from the stretch/set, then don't we have an illegal pitch?  Which would be a balk?  He hasn't begun his pitching motion.  

 

28 minutes ago, SH0102 said:

If they drop the ball with runners on, while engaged with the pitchers plate, it’s a balk.  In every rule set.

NFHS reference? 

6-2-4a says it's a balk if it "does not cross the foul line", it doesn't address if it DOES cross, that's what I'm looking for.  It makes sense that it should be, but it just doesn't say that.

Perhaps it's just such a rare occurrence (if ever) that we let NFHS 10-2-3g handle it?   In which case I'd call it a balk as well.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, NavyBlue said:

If he drops it from the stretch/set, then don't we have an illegal pitch?  Which would be a balk?  He hasn't begun his pitching motion.  

 

NFHS reference? 

6-2-4a says it's a balk if it "does not cross the foul line", it doesn't address if it DOES cross, that's what I'm looking for.  It makes sense that it should be, but it just doesn't say that.

Perhaps it's just such a rare occurrence (if ever) that we let NFHS 10-2-3g handle it?   In which case I'd call it a balk as well.

A dropped ball as well as an errant pitch that crosses the foul line is considered a pitch and a ball. If you don't think you have a cite and use 10-2-3g you should rule as the other codes do.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, Senor Azul said:

It is considered to be a pitch if an in-contact pitcher drops the ball and it then rolls across a foul line. The pitch would be called a ball.

Sr. Azul.  I'm trying to think of a situation where a dropped ball would have enough momentum to go far enough to cross a foul line?  Can you help? Also, do you have a rule reference?

Thanks.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, BigBlue4u said:

Sr. Azul.  I'm trying to think of a situation where a dropped ball would have enough momentum to go far enough to cross a foul line?  Can you help? Also, do you have a rule reference?

Thanks.

You get some TX hardpan clay? The ball is dropped and hits a hard rock near the rubber with a facet angled toward a foul line? No grass on that hardpan? Drop 10 or 12 baseballs and you'll get one that rolls over the foul line...

Admittedly, it's an unlikely occurrence but, it's how the rule book defines a pitched ball so we have to apply that definition the same way in the instance of a dropped ball with the pitcher engaged with the rubber...

~Dawg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

From the 2013 Wendelstedt RIM (p. 106) referring to OBR 6.02(a)(11):

This applies anytime that the pitcher has engaged the rubber whether prepared to, or in actually delivering a pitch.

If the ball crosses either foul line, it is not a balk. It is a pitch outside of the strike zone.

2023-2024 NCAA rule 9-2b Penalty:  With no one on base, if the ball drops or slips out of the hand, intentionally or accidentally, it is no pitch if the ball does NOT cross the foul line. If it does cross the foul line, it is a ball. If there is a runner(s) on base and the ball is dropped, it is a balk.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 2/9/2024 at 3:01 PM, SeeingEyeDog said:

With apologies to Tim Tschida.  Being a professional umpire is not a question of the umpire being paid, it's a question the players are being paid.

"Any umpire who collects a fee to work a game...is a professional umpire." - Tim Tschida

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...