Jump to content

SH0102

Established Member
  • Posts

    424
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

SH0102 last won the day on August 21

SH0102 had the most liked content!

About SH0102

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

SH0102's Achievements

148

Reputation

3

Community Answers

  1. I think most baseball purists don’t want an electronic strike zone. Most MLB umpires are above 90% on accuracy, so what’s the argument? The players play a game where 30% success rate gets you hundreds of millions, coaches take pitchers out during shutouts in WS and then lose the game and it’s acceptable bc “analytics” say it was correct. Also, as a former catcher, the art of receiving pitches and “framing” are pointless and devalues catchers with an electronic zone. Also, have you ever seen a pitch go through box so it’s technically a strike but catcher had to reach/dive for it, or took glove into dirt…if umpire calls that on their own, they are slayed by coaches and batter, but it technically crossed in zone. Those are all strikes with electronic zone, so people will start complaining about those next. Finally, unless batters wear something around the hollow of their knees and the MLB top of zone, it can never be perfect. As for its implementation, I believe it’s only a matter of time. I don’t see how it’s going to bring more fans to the game though, which is what MLB is concerned about
  2. I’ll answer this as I have instructed my 14 year old son…assume you are always on camera, everywhere, bc between satellites, cameras, security cams, traffic cams, doorbell cameras, and cell phones, you usually are.
  3. SH0102

    BI

    Should have been ball 4, but bc it was strike 3, most definitely should have been batters interference. Looks eerily similar to a college play this year. And this was an example (from a different thread) about, yes, coaches/players get a longer leash in the playoffs
  4. If the base runners have not completed their obligations to touch the next base, the ball is most certainly not dead. You can walk off Diamond like the game is over (so as not to tip off an appeal would be valid), but the ball is not dead. Imagine scenario…bases loaded, tie game, bottom of 9th , ncaa game (where appeals must be done when live) Guy hits a gapper, everyone cheers and screams and mobs batter at first, including R1 who never touched second. Savvy outfielder sees this, chases ball down at fence, throws to SS standing at second. You telling me you’re gonna make them reset, next batter in box , pitcher on rubber, say play, step off, throw to second “because the ball was dead?” It was very much alive and R1 is out when they throw to second (barring all INF having left infield)
  5. So asking probing questions is not working, so here’s straight to point: Touching the ball is nothing unless he is intentionally INT with a play. Rolling a ball to mound is not a play. Saying game over means nothing and does not make the ball dead, or the game over. If you want to be technical, the game is over when the last out is recorded or winning run is scored in bottom of last inning, AND defense has left the infield and plate area. You are correct there is no rule you must disappear like the wind when the last run scores, but if defense hasn’t appealed by time you and partner leave field together, I doubt they will later. Just end game like you would anyways, don’t coach runners, and if defense appeals in proper time, then make your call. Everything else is nothing
  6. I should enhance my reading comprehension skills....when he said the catcher rolled the ball out, I assumed it was a walk, hit by pitch, etc, some play that ended with the catcher holding the ball. With the bases loaded in tie game, bottom of last inning, on a clean hit, there is rarely, if ever, a throw home for the catcher to have the ball to roll out.
  7. Oh, and to answer your question in the title....they lose the right to appeal when the infielders have left fair territory and the catcher has left the "dirt circle" (plate area if there is no defined circle)
  8. I am rusty on my FED rule on this, but in NCAA and OBR, only the batter-runner and R3 must fulfill their obligations to touch the next base, R1 and R2 do not have to. I am curious what others think because when I read what you said to the runners, that sounds an awful lot like "coaching", and if I was the defensive coach who wanted to appeal, I would be incredulous that I lost that chance because I heard you tell him to go touch the base. Now, if the runner asked me directly "do I need to touch the next base", I might give a smart-aleck answer like "even if you didn't, is it worth the risk to not run 20 more feet?" because in my mind, there is no reason not to go touch the base. You do it all game every game for years, so why do you need to go celebrate 1.4 seconds earlier? As for the ball, that is not a batted ball, so touching it means nothing unless he intentionally interfered with a play. The catcher rolling the ball on the ground and he kicks while running to celebrate is a whole lot of nothing.
  9. I’m not sure what you are asking…if you are implying that the catchers glove became detached from his hand, then no, it is not an out (assuming the tag beat the touch of home). He did not maintain possession. This also assumes the runner did nothing intentional to detach the glove
  10. This is a good point about loopholes...knowing the rule states "bullpen or dugout" helps if you have an issue. But again, our job is to manage the game, not inject ourselves into it. If some assistant coach dressed in a t-shirt and shorts is standing out of play with the parents, good for him, don't get involved with it. If they are standing outside the dugout, in play, where they could potentially cause problems, confusion, INT/OBS, then put them back in the dugout.
  11. SH0102

    Force Out

    I do not know what age this ballgame was, and I doubt the umpire was very experienced. I wish we could get a message to ALL new/young umpires...it is okay, expected, and even acceptable to make mistakes. But do NOT attempt to justify the mistakes with rules that do not exist. My son is 14 and has already umpired college fall ball games, including D1, but he most definitely does not know a lot of the rule book. I told him, if you kick a call, or misapply a rule, then just own it, learn from it, and move on. But do NOT try to justify something you are not 100% sure about. Even if it means just saying "this is what I have, if I messed up, I apologize and will look it up later, but we are sticking with it" (he usually works solo games, doesnt have partners to ask). If it is that big of a deal, that is what protests are for, but let's move along. But don't quote a rule that does not exist
  12. So the only book I have in my car is my NCAA one, but Rule 1 - 16 - a states "all personnel from BOTH teams must be in their team's dugout or bullpen and remain there until the ball is declared dead or the side has been retired. This excludes the batter, on-deck batter, base runners, base coaches, and the 9 defensive players" ** Emphasis on "both" was added by me ** ** While this rule is from the NCAA book, I guarantee a similar/exact rule is stated in Fed/HS as well **
  13. Welcome Mr. SBLL, First, it always helps to state what rule set you are asking your question for (HS/FED, NCAA, OBR). That said, and I don't have the book right in front of me, there are rules about who is allowed on the playing field (this is anything dubbed "in play"). On offense, it is the batter, on-deck batter, any runners on base, and the base coaches. On defense, it is the 9 fielders. Now, if you are talking about young kids (5 - 10 years old rec), having a coach directing/coaching/teaching is no big deal. Once the kids are older, there is zero reason a defensive coach should be on the field in play while his team is in the field except for the purpose of making a pitching change or holding a defensive conference. I will go to my car and get my rule books, but I am sure someone else will have the rules before I even get back
  14. Definitely a FYC right there, if I am Phillips, I’m not swinging at any pitches that at-bat. Never seen a mid-pitch before either!
  15. Personally I think runs shouldn’t count bc two people missed a base on the same play, just by principle alone (unless we are talking about 8 year olds or something) Also, while the above is correct, it basically can’t happen, bc the appeal on BR must occur before batter gets back to the bag (assuming he overran it). If you appeal to second first, there’s no way the BR isn’t back on first by the time you appeal there too
×
×
  • Create New...