Jump to content

Mound Visit Between Innings?


DVA7130
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 3103 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

Recommended Posts

12U USSSA (OBR)

Top of a new inning with a pitcher who was already in the game. During warm-ups DHC comes and talks in the pitchers ear as he is throwing.

Offensive crowd starts enthusiastically yelling "How is that not a mound visit".

OHC goes to my partner (PU) then my partner comes to discuss. He wants to call it a visit. I tell him I have nothing, and if he does it is his call. He declares it a visit on the explanation that there can "be no coaches on the field at all".

Searched PBUC hoping for hint, but could not find anything about this. What is this site's take? FED as well.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If the coach's actions didn't delay the start of the half inning, then I have nothing.  

In FED, I've often seen the 3B or 1B coach stop at the mound on his way to the dugout to visit with his F1 when their turn to bat is over and they're taking their defensive positions.  

No delay = no charged conference in my book (but I'm not a USSSA expert).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If the coach's actions didn't delay the start of the half inning, then I have nothing.  

 

No delay = no charged conference in my book (but I'm not a USSSA expert).

​I know this is the standard that is used, but I don't get it, so basically a coach can stand out there on the mound for all the warmup pitches and talk strategy, or whatever, and as long as the pitcher continues with his warm up pitches while the coach is talking to him and there is no delay, there is no trip charged?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

​. . .   so basically a coach can stand out there on the mound for all the warmup pitches and talk strategy, or whatever, and as long as the pitcher continues with his warm up pitches while the coach is talking to him and there is no delay, there is no trip charged?

​Correct, except the pitcher does not have to throw warm-up pitches.  How he uses his one minute is up to him.  

If the manager meets with the whole team, including the pitcher, outside the dugout before they take the field on defense, would you charge a conference?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

​Correct, except the pitcher does not have to throw warm-up pitches.  How he uses his one minute is up to him.

If the manager meets with the whole team, including the pitcher, outside the dugout before they take the field on defense, would you charge a conference?

​No, and that is why I did not see the problem.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It turns out your partner was correct in charging a trip but for an entirely wrong reason. Here's the official interpretation from Hunter Wendelstedt as shown in Carl Childress' BRD(2014 edition):

If a manager goes out during warmups to see a pitcher who was already listed in the lineup in a previous inning, that would be a trip. 7/26/2012

This same interpretation appears in his rules interpretation manual on page 46.

In Fed, a coach may stand with his pitcher at the mound between half innings. If his presence creates a delay, the umpire MAY charge a conference.

In NCAA, as long as the conference does not delay the start of the half inning, the meeting is allowed.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It turns out your partner was correct in charging a trip but for an entirely wrong reason. Here's the official interpretation from Hunter Wendelstedt as shown in Carl Childress' BRD(2014 edition):

If a manager goes out during warmups to see a pitcher who was already listed in the lineup in a previous inning, that would be a trip. 7/26/2012

This same interpretation appears in his rules interpretation manual on page 46.

In Fed, a coach may stand with his pitcher at the mound between half innings. If his presence creates a delay, the umpire MAY charge a conference.

In NCAA, as long as the conference does not delay the start of the half inning, the meeting is allowed.

 

​Nice find. Wendelstedt interp is probably too professional for this level though. I think the coach was just fishing for something.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...

Because the new inning has not begun. He is not delaying the game and to charge a visit is over officiating. 

That's not over officiating. You can't not enforce rules that you would lose a protest to. If a visit had not been charged and OHC protested the game you would lose that protest every time. It's not like if you allow the base coaches to not be in the box. No one is protesting that and no one is losing a protest on that. And for the record this is USSSA which means that the new half-inning shall be consider to have started at the completion of the 3rd out in the previous half inning. Therefore the inning has begun and delay of the game has no bearing in USSSA as to if a mound visit is charged or not.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That's not over officiating. You can't not enforce rules that you would lose a protest to. If a visit had not been charged and OHC protested the game you would lose that protest every time. It's not like if you allow the base coaches to not be in the box. No one is protesting that and no one is losing a protest on that. And for the record this is USSSA which means that the new half-inning shall be consider to have started at the completion of the 3rd out in the previous half inning. Therefore the inning has begun and delay of the game has no bearing in USSSA as to if a mound visit is charged or not.

As noted above by Senor Azul, it depends on which rules.  FWIW LL ruling is the same as the NCAA ruling

Link to comment
Share on other sites


×
×
  • Create New...