Jump to content

noumpere

Established Member
  • Posts

    12,159
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    228

noumpere last won the day on July 8

noumpere had the most liked content!

5 Followers

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

noumpere's Achievements

4.7k

Reputation

94

Community Answers

  1. (A) is NOT true. If the pitcher does not break contact with the rubber, then any move to another base or the plate is not direct / immediate (whatever the specific wording is).
  2. Illegal.
  3. Yes Yes Yes (aren't questions 2 and 3 the same?) (all assuming F1 hasn't made--or doesn't make-- some move that's part of the pitch, such as stepping back or raising the hands over the head)
  4. Sometimes, you just need to umpire.
  5. Yes, but it's specifically allowed by a note -- and the note is there just for that reason. Only in FED, and I thought we were discussing OBR (because any pick from a windup is NOT legal in FED) OBR might "flow down" to FED, but FED does NOT "flow up" to OBR
  6. 5 (and the response to my comment). Because it's not an immediate / direct move to a base (or whatever the specific wording is). Back when the 3-1 move was legal, it was specifically stated that to be legal F1 had to break contact on the move to third. The same is true on any move to second (I did not follow the link in 6)
  7. 1) Once you feint to second and break contact with the rubber, you are an infielder. You can feint or throw to any base in any manner.
  8. All the cases have been answered.
  9. The problem is that the questions are unnecessarily complicated, and eve when answered you come back with the same question or variations that don't matter. Go to an umpire clinic and pay attention, silently, when they talk about balks. For the latest two questions: 1) Once you feint to second and break contact with the rubber, you are an infielder. You can feint or throw to any base in any manner. 2) Once the free foot is raised, F1 must throw (or feint, where allowed) to the base being faced, second, or pitch. Once the free foot crosses the rubber, F1 must throw (or feint) to second or pitch.
  10. noumpere

    Runners Passing

    IIRC, the "beyond" is relative to a line perpendicular to the baseline. And, the entire portion of the trailing runner must be beyond the entire portion of the lead runner. I may not have seen all the videos / stills on this, but the couple that I saw don't really come close to passing.
  11. Report it to the league and let them take additional disciplinary action.
  12. I hate to get involved, but I've been away for about 10 days so, 1) The rules say nothing about counter-clockwise or clockwise. If one is legal, the other is legal. 2) If a move is legal for a LH pitcher to first, it's legal for a RH pitcher to third. That should answer most of the questions above. Follow-up not desired.
  13. It's like the lefty step-back-and-snap-throw to first. But, it's usually done much more slowly and the hands are apart well in advance of the foot hitting the ground. If you balk it, they'll stop doing it. ;)
  14. In most markets, girls are in the fall, boys are in the spring. So, the same number of officials can cover both sports. (It will draw from officials who currently work another spring sport, but it won't be a doubling.)
×
×
  • Create New...