Jump to content

LC Ump

Members
  • Posts

    15
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Profile Information

  • Location
    New Hampshire

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

LC Ump's Achievements

  1. A foul tip is not only a strike (in this case, strike three) but also a live ball on which runners can advance.
  2. Nice article on this year's LLWS umpires in the NYT today. Have had the pleasure of meeting and being trained/evaluated by several of those mentioned or shown in it - Joe Smith, Ricci Hall, Tom Rawlings - all great guys who are really good umpires and want to help you become one, too. For Volunteer Umpires, Little League World Series in the Pinnacle - The New York Times (nytimes.com)
  3. Thanks for the response @MadMax. Just the kind of thing I was looking for...and great point about U2 doing less on fly balls than in 4-man.
  4. Wondering if anyone knows of a good place to find a breakdown of UR/UL alignments/responsibilities when working with 6 umpires. Haven't been able to turn anything up here or on the internet. Thanks in advance for any leads...
  5. Thanks for the clarification on the retired runner rule. And since the play ended because of the assumed third out R3 scores, R2 is at 3b and R1 at 1b...and we play on with 2 outs from there?
  6. Would appreciate others' knowledege/wisdom with regard to this play in an LL Majors (10/11/12's) game: Bases loaded, one out. Batter hits a high line drive to CF which is caught by F8 for the second out. All three runners tag - R3 heads home, R2 heads to 3b, R1 takes a few steps toward 2b but retreats. As this happens, the BR, not realizing his batted ball has been caught, continues running - rounds 1b, passes R1 and heads full steam toward 2b. F8 sees the retired runner advancing and throws to F6 who intiates a run down between 2b and 1b with F3. The BR is eventually tagged out with R2 half way between 3b and home for what everyone thinks is the third out. The BU realizes that the it was the already retired BR who was tagged out for the supposed third out and has to rule on the play. Is this interference by a retired runner? Is this merely a dead ball and runners are returned to the base occupied at the time of the tag on the BR? Something else?
  7. I use the memory foam pads that came with my two Wilson Dyna-Lite AL masks and put TW's on my two Diamond BL-Ump masks. No problems with either set up doing everything from LL to Juco ball. Both seem to be well-liked by others here and I can't disagree, although the consensus on the mags is certainly way up there, as well.
  8. I agree with Maven. "Borderline" on the first pitch and then discernible after that. And I see no evidence that opposing players are having a problem discerning the stop, nor that they are being deceived, which is another element of the balk rule. Their jumps off first base are free and easy.
  9. LC Ump

    Interference?

    Yes to all you say about F4 stopping. That has been one of the things I've wrestled with in sorting through my judgement on the play. Tough for us to see as it all happened in quick succession. Neither of us had a great angle. BU was in LL C position with R1 and R2 on base and me as PU was around 1BX to see the batted ball while also keeping track of R2 in case it was through for a hit and possible play at the plate. Not sure how we could have gone through this any better other than more collective umpire experience (I'm a third year guy and BU was a first year junior umpire) or video replay. Everyone's help with this has been great, definitely added to my knowledge, and is why I posed the question here in the first place. Thanks.
  10. LC Ump

    Interference?

    Yes, I can see how this could have quickly become obstruction instead of nothing. Fortunately F4 stopped, R1 passed by him without incident and was safe at 2b without a throw. Again, thanks for thinking this through for me and giving me the benefit of your experience. Will make me better the next time one of these unfolds, as I'm sure one will!
  11. LC Ump

    Interference?

    No video to share but I think both Maven and noumpere have this pretty much as it unfolded. R1 definitely stopped to let the ball pass and began toward 2b only when it had. F4 arrived as the ball passed R1 and started to run again, all of which was the result of route to the ball that was late and into the path of R1. Which is why the BU ruled (and I as PU agreed) it was nothing R1 didn't hinder F4 as much as F4 botched his attempt to field the ball. Thanks for all of the great feedback/info. A huge help to a new umpire with rules interpretation and learning to apply sound judgement.
  12. LC Ump

    Interference?

    Agree...and the rule certainly seems to privilege the fielder, even if R1 did exactly what he needed to do and F4's being slow and awkward in fielding the ball led to his being hindered.
  13. LC Ump

    Interference?

    It was an 11/12 LL all star scrimmage. I was on board with the BU's "nothing" call for the reasons you say - R1 didn't hinder or impede F4 as much as F4's attempt to field the ball was slow and poorly executed. He likely would have missed the ball anyway. Thanks for the help thinking this through.
  14. LC Ump

    Interference?

    RI stopped to avoid being hit by the batted ball. F4 stopped because he saw R1...although it would be fair to say F4 was late to the party, the ball was by R1 and F4's angle to it made the chance of fielding it cleanly unlikely. Agree that it would be a lot easier to judge if you were able to see it. I guess what I'm asking is whether all of this (R1's stopping, the ball being by him, F4's route to the ball being off course and late) doesn't matter and only the matter of "hindered or impeded" does.
  15. R1 and R2, one out. Batted ball grounded about a third of the way between 1b and 2b. R1 stops to avoid being hit by the ball, then restarts toward 2b. F4 arrives to field the batted ball as R1 restarts, stops, and allows the ball go into RF. The ball was clearly past R1 by the time F4. No contact occurred. The defense claims interference. BU rules it's nothing. Wondering how those here would see this.
×
×
  • Create New...