Jump to content

BretMan

Established Member
  • Content Count

    329
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

BretMan last won the day on November 30 2012

BretMan had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

106 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Columbus, Ohio

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    COBUA & COSUA
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Officially Un-official blog

Recent Profile Visitors

6,240 profile views
  1. BretMan

    Does the run count

    I’ve see this same exact question pop up on various discussion boards and forums at least a dozen times. And the answer is still the same... This is a time play. If the run scores before the appeal, count the run. If the appeal was made before the run scores, then the run does not count.
  2. 3- Use your eyes and ears to gather as much input as you can, then make the best call possible. They’re always going to be second guessing you, don’t take their word as fact. On this one, your best response was probably, “That's not what I had”. And leave it at that. Walk away and return to your position.
  3. 1- Stick to your fundamentals. Before the pitch, get your reference points to judge your boundaries of the strike zone. Use good timing. Wait for the pitch to hit the mitt, take a half second to replay it in your head, make a decision, then call it. 2- There’s a reason that they call the side opposite the slot “the kill zone”! Your chance of getting nailed by a foul ball is much greater there. Stay in the slot, raise higher, go lower, adjust, so what it takes to see the pitch and the pitcher.
  4. BretMan

    Tipped Ball

    In order to answer this question, we have to assume what “tipped back to the catcher” means. Was it in a sharp and direct line, or was there some perceptible arc on the ball? It does matter and the question isn’t specific.
  5. Ya know... In FED you can get two strikes on one pitch. Does that mean the entire rest of your analysis is suspect?
  6. The wolfe_man's a good guy! I've bought a couple of things from him, and get this... He just happens to work a few minutes from my house. On his lunch hour he personally delivered what I bought right to my door. You can't beat customer service like that!
  7. That "delay or hasten" rule works great for the situations where it was intended: Games that might involve approaching bad weather or darkness. Stalling with darkness coming, when the home team is threatening to take the lead, or purposely making outs to end the fifth inning and make the game official when you have the lead and it's about to rain are good examples of either delaying or hastening the game. But when you throw in a game clock- which is NOT what this rule was meant to address- then things get a little stickier. On this one, does intentionally walking four batters delay the game? No, it does not. The game would still progress at a normal pace expected for typical game play. Nothing is being stalled or delayed. Then does it hasten the game? That is, does it cause the game to come to a conclusion sooner than it would under normal game play. No, it actually will make another inning be played. How can you say that is ending the game sooner than normal? It not hastening the game. It's lengthening it!
  8. BretMan

    Hit By Pitch

    That’s the way I always looked at it. The batter has an obligation to avoid the pitch- if it is indeed avoidable. Many times it’s not.
  9. BretMan

    Hit By Pitch

    Yeah, but, but... If it’s rec league softball, they might very well have the rule that a batter does NOT need to avoid a pitch if it’s completely inside of the batter’s box. That’s the rule that was first created by NCAA baseball, then NCAA softball adopted it, then it trickles down to many other amateur softball rule sets.
  10. Thunderheads, that makes perfect sense to me because it’s how I solved the same problem on my old Reebok Magistrates. Lace then up just like you’d normally lace up a pair of shoes, totally leaving the top plate out of it. Then when the shoe is laced up run each lace straight up through the holes in the plate, pull tight, and tie. I have a brand new pair of V3 low tops that haven’t seen the field yet and it’s good to know this same trick will work for them!
  11. https://www.ebay.com/itm/Power-Riddell-Umpire-Chest-Protector/173789623251?hash=item2876ab33d3:g:JGoAAOSw3bBcYeZB&redirect=mobile I don't know if this one has been posted yet. That sure is...orange???
  12. With respect to the Ohio uniform requirements... I first joined the OHSAA in 2000. Their uniforms do need to have a specific logo that has to be embroidered on shirts and hats. But they never had a logo with a specific date embroidered on it, as part of the logo itself, that changed year to year. They had one logo when I started, no date on it, that was good for the first decade or so that I umpired. Then they redesigned the logo. Umpires were given a three year advance notice that the change was coming. That newer logo has been in effect for about five years. Again, no numbers or dates on the logo. It can be used every year into the future (until some point where it might change again). The good news is that our official shirts and hats can be used from year to year going forward. The bad news is...they're blue! So, Ohio is kind of Draconian...but they're not THAT Draconian!
  13. Nope...that's not even better! Don't just wait until somebody gives you the answer you wanted to hear, then agree with them. The answer to this one depends on which rule set you're using. For instance, I work two sanctions- USA Softball and NFHS/high school- and they both have different rulings. For USA softball, if the ball was deflected by the pitcher then any interference with the fielder must be ruled as intentional. The reason being that once the ball changes direction the fielder may suddenly change direction, and they don't expect a runner to predict which way a fielder might suddenly veer. So, their rule cuts the runner some slack and only calls interference if the runner does something obvious and avoidable to interfere. NFHS softball has a different philosophy. They protect the fielder at all costs. Even though deflected by the pitcher, the fielder is still considered to be making the "initial play" on the batted ball and still has 100% protection from interference, whether accidental or deliberate. I don't know what rule set you were using in your game. There are a dozen of them out there and they might rule this interference...or they might not! There isn't a "one size fits all answer" that applies to all rule sets.
  14. I really don't think that it's a matter of managers "being afraid to protest". I think it's a combination of: 1) Not knowing how the protest procedure is supposed to work, and; 2) Not being 100% sure of the rule themselves. Then throw in all the leagues that don't allow protests, and all the tournaments that charge an exorbitant fee to lodge one, and it's no surprise that protests aren't correctly used more often.
  15. I'm guessing that your question involves the fact that in slow pitch softball bunting is illegal. The definition of a bunt (to paraphrase) is when the ball is "intentionally tapped slowly within the infield". So the umpire here has a decision to make. Was it the batter's intent to tap the ball slowly? If yes, then it's a bunt and the batter is out. If not, then it's just a plain old batted ball.
×
×
  • Create New...