Jump to content

MLB Disengagement rules


DevildogUmp

Recommended Posts

  • Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

12 hours ago, DevildogUmp said:

Does a pitcher get hit with a disengagement if the batter isn't even in the box when he steps off?

In OBR? Yes. 

2 disengagements per at-bat (unless one is for a charged defensive conference, or an umpire-invoked purpose). A 3rd disengagement must result in a Runner retired, else it is a Balk. 

The added “pressure” in OBR – within MLB/MiLB games (now with pitch clock) – is that the ball is Live upon the pitcher engaging the rubber with a/the ball (that ball is Live). If he doesn’t disengage, and does something outside of the pitching rules, or anything that could be interpreted as a balk, it will be called (with Runners on). 

In the amateur game, if the ball is Dead, the PU is still the only one who can make (point) the ball Live. To do so, the PU must have the 3 main elements present. That includes a batter in the box. So if the pitcher engages, s add me then disengages, it doesn’t matter, because the ball isn’t Live (yet). 

If the ball is Live, and we have a new batter starting his at-bat, then, so too, the Action clock doesn’t start until the batter is in the box (PU points, but doesn’t say anything). So, any engagement / disengagement / re-engagement doesn’t affect the pitcher until the clock is started. Then, the pitcher is allowed 1 “free” reset per at-bat (with Runners on). If no Runners are on, then it (that disengagement) doesn’t matter, the clock continues to run down from :20 once the PU indicates its start. 

Make sense? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...
On 9/16/2023 at 8:03 PM, DevildogUmp said:

@Senor Azul That doesn't answer the question. Does a pitcher get hit with a disengagement if the batter isn't even in the box when he steps off?

Yes...and when he disengages the 20 second clock will reset.

Likewise, if the pitcher is strolling around the mound, and talking to the shortstop, while the pitch clock is winding down, the batter is required to be in the box and alert at the 8 second mark, and will get charged with a strike, even if the pitcher isn't even on the mound.

There's no reason for him to disengage if the batter isn't ready.  It's in is best interest to stay engaged and hope he gets a free strike.  The pitcher, however, is not allowed to come set until the batter is alert to the pitcher.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, beerguy55 said:

The pitcher, however, is not allowed to come set until the batter is alert to the pitcher.

If he is in the set. The loophole being that with no runners and an alert batter sideways pitcher could deliver, some of whom have a very abbreviated stutter step, others who occasionally just throw without a windup. I haven't seen anyone take advantage of this yet.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...