Jump to content
  • 0

OBR Balk and Pitched ball. Count


Guest mwalsh425

Question

Guest mwalsh425

Hi Everyone,

I am sorry if this a repeated question or has been answered multiple times before.

Situation:

HS aged Summer baseball playing "Big Book" Balks (Live)

Runner on 2nd.  BALK is called mid delivery for no pause on 1st pitch of AB. The Runner is awarded 3rd. However, The Pitch is fouled off the the screen and Umpire calls out 0-1 is the count.

Should the count have remained 0-0 as the ball was not in play? 

 

Thank you

 

 

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
6 hours ago, Guest mwalsh425 said:

Runner on 2nd.  BALK is called mid delivery for no pause on 1st pitch of AB. The Runner is awarded 3rd. However, The Pitch is fouled off the the screen and Umpire calls out 0-1 is the count.

Order of events is called / administered wrong. It should be: 

  1. R2; F1 (pitcher) begins delivery
  2. Balk is called
  3. Pitch is fouled off (“Foul” is called or signaled)
  4. Balk is addressed and enforced; R2 is awarded 3B, Batter returns to/remains in box, and PU states the previous count (no pitch)
  5. F1 engages to rubber (with ball), Batter in box, catcher in position, and PU calls/signals “Play”

It’s not that the ball wasn’t in play, it’s that it wasn’t a valid pitch. 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Sounds like the umpire was confused with the live-ball balk rule (might be trained for HS rules).

With a live-ball balk, we either enforce the balk and have no pitch, or we ignore the balk (because the batter and all runners reached their advance bases on the play.

In this play, because the batter fouled off the pitch, we enforce the balk (advance runners) and it's no pitch.

  • Like 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
2 hours ago, maven said:

Sounds like the umpire was confused with the live-ball balk rule (might be trained for HS rules).

With a live-ball balk, we either enforce the balk and have no pitch, or we ignore the balk (because the batter and all runners reached their advance bases on the play.

In this play, because the batter fouled off the pitch, we enforce the balk (advance runners) and it's no pitch.

There are two other situations that don’t fall into your either or. Wild pitch with runner/s advancing at least 1 base. Balk is ignored for them but acknowledged for the batter unless the wild pitch was ball 4 that advanced all. 
Wild pickoff with runner/s advancing at least 1 base. Balk is ignored. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...