NFHS rules -- backswing interference vs. follow-through interference

Hi guys, I'm moving up this year from rec league ball to high school; we are under the 2020 NFHS rule book (yes, 2020, not 2021).  I'm studying the rules, and for the life of me I cannot figure out what backswing interference refers to ("...prior to time of pitch...").  I also cannot figure out how it is different from follow through interference. 

Help me understand?

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

The term , “ backswing interference “ pertains to two different things in FED vs OBR. In FED, as others have explained, it’s simply the bat hitting the catcher or his glove prior to a pitch.  when thi

In NFHS terms, "backswing" means when they're warming up, taking practice swings in the box, and getting ready to hit. "Follow-through" is what happens after they swing at a pitch.

It's important to distinguish these, as the penalties are different. The penalty for follow-through INT is the same as batter INT. Other codes don't give this a different name because it's really

In NFHS terms, "backswing" means when they're warming up, taking practice swings in the box, and getting ready to hit. "Follow-through" is what happens after they swing at a pitch.

• Like 1

It's important to distinguish these, as the penalties are different.

The penalty for follow-through INT is the same as batter INT. Other codes don't give this a different name because it's really just batter INT.

The "penalty" for backswing INT is just to kill it and reset. It's not really INT at all, because the defense isn't hindered (so the batter isn't out).

• Like 1
2 hours ago, kylehutson said:

Usually when the batter does his "waggle" over the plate and then moves the bat back to raise it up to / above his back shoulder as the pitcher comes set (or acknowledges the  sign from the catcher).