Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Tom Lucarelli

3rd strike

Question

Guest Tom Lucarelli

On 3rd strike Batter swings missed ball is scooped by catcher one hop can batter run to first?? Catcher scooped it clean 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

batter hits a line drive to the second baseman, he scoops it clean on a hop... is the batter out? Same rule applies, this is an uncaught third strike and the batter may try for first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

If by scooped you mean off the dirt, it’s uncaught and runner can advanced to first and must be put out.  
 

he can run anytime, the question is can the runner advance and be safe :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

As previously stated, it's an uncaught third strike and depending on if there is a runner on first or not and how many outs there are the batter may or may not be allowed to try to advance to first!

Runner on first, batter may only run it there are two outs.

No runner on first, batter may run regardless of the number of outs.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
23 hours ago, Guest Tom Lucarelli said:

On 3rd strike Batter swings missed ball is scooped by catcher one hop can batter run to first?? Catcher scooped it clean 

The myth, and confusion, comes in the misnomer terminology...there is no such thing as a "dropped" third strike...it is properly called an "uncaught" third strike.

I have heard many a player, coach and umpire argue that the play you describe should not allow the batter to run because the catcher never dropped the ball - they are wrong.

 

Edit: like the example above, if a fielder were to short hop a line drive you would not say he "dropped" it...you would simply say he did not catch it.

 

The batter becomes the runner when:

(2)The third strike called by the umpire is not caught, providing (1) first base is unoccupied, or (2) first base is occupied with two out;

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...