Jump to content

Recommended Posts

OBR first

Then Federation:

R 3 leaves base early on line drive that is caught by F6

R 3 is obstructed by F1 who is trying to back up the throw and is thrown out at the plate.

Umpire kills the play and awards R 3 home.

Question is that since the ball is dead can R 3 return to retouch 3rd before touching the plate?

What about after touching the plate?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

He can, he may, and he must, or be liable to be called out on proper retouch appeal. If he retouches, he still gets his award. He can, but it won't matter. He'll be out on proper retouch appeal

The key is the ball being dead, which it is with Type 1 obstruction.  

1 hour ago, MT73 said:

Question is that since the ball is dead can R 3 return to retouch 3rd before touching the plate?

He can, he may, and he must, or be liable to be called out on proper retouch appeal. If he retouches, he still gets his award.

1 hour ago, MT73 said:

What about after touching the plate?

He can, but it won't matter. He'll be out on proper retouch appeal.

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, MT73 said:

What about after touching the plate?

If he touches the plate before the ball becomes dead, he can still return in OBR, but not in FED.

 

If he touches the plate after the ball becomes dead, he cannot return under either code.

Link to post
Share on other sites

This was the situation.

R 3 is obstructed by F1 while trying to score  while F 6 is throwing the ball home.

Umpire points and says,”That’s obstruction”

Now the throw comes in  to F 2 and R 3 is tagged out but then hits the plate.

In OBR is this considered type 1 obstruction?

Is the ball dead at the time of the infraction?

If so  can R 3 still he be allowed to retouch 3rd and then retouch the plate?

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, MT73 said:

This was the situation.

R 3 is obstructed by F1 while trying to score  while F 6 is throwing the ball home.

Umpire points and says,”That’s obstruction”

Now the throw comes in  to F 2 and R 3 is tagged out but then hits the plate.

In OBR is this considered type 1 obstruction?

Is the ball dead at the time of the infraction?

If so  can R 3 still he be allowed to retouch 3rd and then retouch the plate?

 

Let me give this a shot.

OBR

Yes.

No. Delayed dead  (unless type 2)

I would say, Yes!  Ball became dead once playing action stopped.  

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, MT73 said:

This was the situation.

R 3 is obstructed by F1 while trying to score  while F 6 is throwing the ball home.

Umpire points and says,”That’s obstruction”

Now the throw comes in  to F 2 and R 3 is tagged out but then hits the plate.

In OBR is this considered type 1 obstruction?

Is the ball dead at the time of the infraction?

If so  can R 3 still he be allowed to retouch 3rd and then retouch the plate?

 

Tyoe 1.  Immediate dead ball (in OBR; all FED is delayed dead ball)

Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, MT73 said:

In OBR is this considered type 1 obstruction?

Yes.

5 hours ago, MT73 said:

Is the ball dead at the time of the infraction?

Yes, which is important, because it's pretty obvious then that R3 touched HP after the ball became dead.

5 hours ago, MT73 said:

If so  can R3 still he be allowed to retouch 3rd and then retouch the plate?

Again, he is allowed to retouch—the umpire should not prevent it—but it won't count. A proper appeal should still be granted. The appeal would be disallowed until R3 completed his baserunning responsibilities (or whatever he thinks they are).

I've never (yet) had to explain this one to a coach, and hope I won't ever.

Link to post
Share on other sites

PBUC  6.12 RETOUCHING BASES WHEN BALL IS DEAD

When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or one he has left too soon after he has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base. A runner may return to a missed base (or one he has left too soon) when the ball is dead if he has not touched the next base. A runner may, of course, return to any missed base (or one he has left too soon) while the ball is in play unless a following runner has scored. See Approved Rulings (1) and (2) to Official Baseball Rule 7.10(b). The “next base” or “base beyond” in this section refers to the position of the runner at the time the ball went out of play.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...