MT73 40 Posted May 25, 2019 Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 OBR first Then Federation: R 3 leaves base early on line drive that is caught by F6 R 3 is obstructed by F1 who is trying to back up the throw and is thrown out at the plate. Umpire kills the play and awards R 3 home. Question is that since the ball is dead can R 3 return to retouch 3rd before touching the plate? What about after touching the plate? Quote Link to post Share on other sites
maven 4,869 Posted May 25, 2019 Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 1 hour ago, MT73 said: Question is that since the ball is dead can R 3 return to retouch 3rd before touching the plate? He can, he may, and he must, or be liable to be called out on proper retouch appeal. If he retouches, he still gets his award. 1 hour ago, MT73 said: What about after touching the plate? He can, but it won't matter. He'll be out on proper retouch appeal. 1 Quote Link to post Share on other sites
noumpere 3,242 Posted May 25, 2019 Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 1 hour ago, MT73 said: What about after touching the plate? If he touches the plate before the ball becomes dead, he can still return in OBR, but not in FED. If he touches the plate after the ball becomes dead, he cannot return under either code. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
MT73 40 Posted May 25, 2019 Author Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 This was the situation. R 3 is obstructed by F1 while trying to score while F 6 is throwing the ball home. Umpire points and says,”That’s obstruction” Now the throw comes in to F 2 and R 3 is tagged out but then hits the plate. In OBR is this considered type 1 obstruction? Is the ball dead at the time of the infraction? If so can R 3 still he be allowed to retouch 3rd and then retouch the plate? Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Tborze 82 Posted May 25, 2019 Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 1 hour ago, MT73 said: This was the situation. R 3 is obstructed by F1 while trying to score while F 6 is throwing the ball home. Umpire points and says,”That’s obstruction” Now the throw comes in to F 2 and R 3 is tagged out but then hits the plate. In OBR is this considered type 1 obstruction? Is the ball dead at the time of the infraction? If so can R 3 still he be allowed to retouch 3rd and then retouch the plate? Let me give this a shot. OBR Yes. No. Delayed dead (unless type 2) I would say, Yes! Ball became dead once playing action stopped. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
noumpere 3,242 Posted May 25, 2019 Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 2 hours ago, MT73 said: This was the situation. R 3 is obstructed by F1 while trying to score while F 6 is throwing the ball home. Umpire points and says,”That’s obstruction” Now the throw comes in to F 2 and R 3 is tagged out but then hits the plate. In OBR is this considered type 1 obstruction? Is the ball dead at the time of the infraction? If so can R 3 still he be allowed to retouch 3rd and then retouch the plate? Tyoe 1. Immediate dead ball (in OBR; all FED is delayed dead ball) Quote Link to post Share on other sites
maven 4,869 Posted May 25, 2019 Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 5 hours ago, MT73 said: In OBR is this considered type 1 obstruction? Yes. 5 hours ago, MT73 said: Is the ball dead at the time of the infraction? Yes, which is important, because it's pretty obvious then that R3 touched HP after the ball became dead. 5 hours ago, MT73 said: If so can R3 still he be allowed to retouch 3rd and then retouch the plate? Again, he is allowed to retouch—the umpire should not prevent it—but it won't count. A proper appeal should still be granted. The appeal would be disallowed until R3 completed his baserunning responsibilities (or whatever he thinks they are). I've never (yet) had to explain this one to a coach, and hope I won't ever. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
johnpatrick 95 Posted May 25, 2019 Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 PBUC 6.12 RETOUCHING BASES WHEN BALL IS DEAD When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or one he has left too soon after he has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base. A runner may return to a missed base (or one he has left too soon) when the ball is dead if he has not touched the next base. A runner may, of course, return to any missed base (or one he has left too soon) while the ball is in play unless a following runner has scored. See Approved Rulings (1) and (2) to Official Baseball Rule 7.10(b). The “next base” or “base beyond” in this section refers to the position of the runner at the time the ball went out of play. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
MT73 40 Posted May 25, 2019 Author Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 I can understand going out of play. But does that apply in this situation? Quote Link to post Share on other sites
johnpatrick 95 Posted May 25, 2019 Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 28 minutes ago, MT73 said: I can understand going out of play. But does that apply in this situation? The key is the ball being dead, which it is with Type 1 obstruction. 1 Quote Link to post Share on other sites
MT73 40 Posted May 25, 2019 Author Report Share Posted May 25, 2019 Copy. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.