Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Robert J mcdonald Jr

Runner hit by the ball that was batted

Question

Guest Robert J mcdonald Jr

Bases loaded, batter hits ball and the ball hits runner going from 2nd to 3rd. What is result?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

unless the batted ball has passed an infielder other than the pitcher and no other fielder could have fielded it, then it is nothing.  This most often occurs when the infielders are playing in and the runner advancing from 2nd to 3rd is behind them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

unless the batted ball has passed an infielder other than the pitcher and no other fielder could have fielded it, then it is nothing.  This most often occurs when the infielders are playing in and the runner advancing from 2nd to 3rd is behind them.

In this situation, if you judge the contact intentional on the part of the runner, it's still INT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

unless the batted ball has passed an infielder other than the pitcher and no other fielder could have fielded it, then it is nothing.  This most often occurs when the infielders are playing in and the runner advancing from 2nd to 3rd is behind them.

And, the definition of "passed" depends on the rules code.

 

In OBR, the ball must go "through or immediately by" the fielder (such that the runner would have a reasonable expectation that the fielder would glove the ball).  If it doesn't (for example, the ball passes midway between F5 and F6 and neither had a play on it), then the runner is still out when hit, even if the runner is "beyond" the fielders.

 

In FED, it just needs to go past a line between the fielders (the "string theory")

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...