Jump to content

TheLovejoy

Members
  • Posts

    18
  • Joined

  • Last visited

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    SD Umpires Association
  • Occupation
    Casino Management
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little League Intermediate/Legion
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

TheLovejoy's Achievements

2

Reputation

  1. Got ya! Did not catch that:) And I know it’s not a force, I meant the tag up appeal;)
  2. I don't know for sure, but I'm guessing it's because they are playing 'possession'. Where if he doesn't have the ball in glove, you can't obstruct in any way.
  3. I guess my thought was that while the fielder was moving to get the ball, his momentum carrying him to get in the way of the runner was him still in the act of making the play. If you're standing still, and jump to your right to reach for the ball, and come down, mid flight, and obstruct the runner, you'd still be in the act of making a play on that runner. Something like that. But I can see what you mean.
  4. This... Ok...This make sense, and also addressed my thought process. You're completely correct in your assessment of my confusion. Without that 2nd paragraph addressing it, I was thinking this exact scenario. "If the umpire sees the obstruction, and calls it as soon as he recognizes it, he should be calling time...so, how could you award him an extra base when the rule clearly states one base from the previous occupied?" Most of the google searches I've found don't clearly address that 2nd paragraph, my question exactly, if a ball is in flight or there are other outlying forces. The way @maven mentioned it made sense, I just couldn't SEE the rule that belonged to that. I was only seeing the one base award. Thank you guys so much. @The Man in Blue I've only done softball umpiring the last 5 years....I'm just diving into this baseball world, so I totally know what you mean. Learning a lot of these new rulesets when I'm used to USA Softball has been the hardest problem.
  5. I agree with your assessment, and that’s how it ‘should’ be. But if the rule says that the ball is dead for obstruction on that runner who they are making a play on for type 1, and he gets one base from the last touches, then how do we justify it by giving them an extra base? Even though that was the most likely outcome. I got myself twisted now [emoji17] Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  6. You’re right. I was looking through our state website and got confused.
  7. This is what was getting me. I've only been studying the Type 1 vs Type 2. I believe Little League is always delayed now that I think about it.
  8. TheLovejoy

    Wacky play

    Just to clarify for myself: The one base award is from the time of the pitch, and the 2 base award is from the time the ball enters a dead ball area, correct?
  9. Actual situation: R2, ball hit to 1st base where first baseman comes in to get it, throws toward 3rd where R2 was headed. 3rd baseman isn't in the base-path. Throw is high and wide, so it pulls him into the base-path and he collides with R2, (I would say the throw was right at the fielders glove, MAYBE slightly past the fielder when they collide), throw continues to go toward the short leftfield fence. Runner gets up, touches 3rd, and heads home. Left fielder, backing up the play, throws the runner out at home by a step. Since this was obstruction on a play being made on a runner, it should have been dead ball immediately, and runner placed on 3rd, correct? However, since it played out, and a dead ball was not called, and then it was clear that if the obstruction had not occurred the runner would have scored, do you handle it differently? What if the throw was clearly in front of the 3rd baseman when the obstruction occurred? Hypothetical situation, similar idea, but R1, ball hit to first base, R1 obstructed by 2nd baseman while the first baseman overthrows the ball and it goes way out into left center field. Still kill it and keep the runner on 2nd, when they would have easily had 3rd (or possibly even scored, although I wouldn't assume that probably)? I know that obstruction on a runner that the play is being made is a dead ball, but is there leeway for situations similar to this?
  10. TheLovejoy

    Passing runner

    Think if it like, 'You are not allowed to pass a runner.', and not, 'You are not allowed to be passed.'
  11. Dude, that’s exactly how I would describe it now that you say it.
  12. This kids mom showed the batting teams coach a video of her taping her kid. The kid had a goofy type of swing where he dropped the bat head backwards and down before he pivoted forward. You ever see where some coaches have their kids start with the bat at a flat backwards angle, almost pointing straight backwards? It was similar to that, it's just where his swing went. Bat goes straight back and down before he swings. It just barely hit the kid right above the elbow on his swing.
  13. This is my first year actually taking the test, getting certified, and actually doing games as an association umpire. So yes, the tracking stuff is something I need to work on for sure. I do indeed know the rule, and how it’s handled, but just didn’t catch it. I think the catcher was a little close, the very end of the bat hit him in the upper arm. I was indeed tracking the ball best I could, and didn’t see nor hear the glove, just missed it. I thought the same thing about putting the volunteer dad into a position he wasn’t comfortable with by volunteering myself to ask for his help. If the coach would have asked for his opinion, I would have went and asked, mostly since they were both things that he could have seen possibly, because I clearly did not. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
×
×
  • Create New...