Jump to content

urout17

Established Member
  • Posts

    160
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

Everything posted by urout17

  1. Why would suddenly veering into foul territory make this any less interference than suddenly veering into fair territory which is exactly what he did? R3 knew exactly what he was doing and was hoping for an outcome exactly what happened. Back in my playing days I have done this same thing. Believe me, I know umpires have plenty to look for but I would think with the game on the line he (HP Umpire) should kind of have his radar up as soon as that ball was hit. Seriously, just my two cents.
  2. urout17

    Wacky play

    Bet you waited a long time to fit THAT word in somewhere?. Nicely done. 😀
  3. Monday night, HS varsity with two decent teams. T4, at the peak of twilight. 2 outs, R2 running on contact. The batter hits a sky high popup right between 1B and 2B at the grass edge. Both look up and then both look at each other, neither of them seeing it all at. The SS, who was playing deep in the hole, comes flying across the infield but was late getting there as the ball falls harmlessly to the ground, scoring what turned out to be the only run of the game. I think there were only 5-6 hits total and the game was over in a crisp 1:28. Doesn't happen often.
  4. urout17

    Fielding

    He's got a knack of doing it....
  5. https://www.espn.com/mlb/story/_/id/33645606/mlb-umpires-announce-replay-review-decisions-fans
  6. urout17

    balk?

    The thing that always bothers me about this show.....have a MLB umpire on the show and ask him!
  7. urout17

    My first ej

    I love the "I'm not even talking to you". Easy reply "Maybe, but I AM talking to YOU."
  8. https://www.mlb.com/cut4/tigers-and-athletics-combine-for-strange-double-play-c180658720
  9. It's great to hear how others would handle this or other situations. Just to be clear, by no means did the SS intend to confuse or cause any obstruction with the play. They both had no idea what the ruling was. Had the SS (or any other player) done anything to instigate something else I would have ruled accordingly. Thanks for everyone's feedback!
  10. First game of the season last night, HS varsity, pretty good game. R1, outs don't matter. R1 stealing on the pitch. Batter swings and foul tips directly into the catchers glove, no problem there. Catcher throws down and R1 beats the throw. As the SS is tossing the ball back to the pitcher, R1 stands up and the conversation between the two of them goes like this: R1: "Didn't he foul that pitch?" SS: "I heard something like it hit the bat"....as he starts walking back to his position. R1: "Don't I need to go back to first?".....and takes about 2-3 steps off the bag towards first. Mind you, neither of them, especially R1, asks me, who's standing right there. I totally understand we're not out there to coach players but I tell the kid to get back on the bag. He turns around, goes back to 2B and nobody is the wiser about what just happened. I asked a few other fellow umpires and one of them said he'd let it play out. You know what I did. How would you have handled this?
  11. I work approx 175-200 games each year ranging from 12U thru JUCO. IMHO, the better teams don't use any of this wristband BS and just play the game.
  12. And the formula....Earned runs X 9 / innings pitched.
  13. "Hey 1B, get a foot on the line" Done.
  14. Sent from my LM-G850 using Tapatalk
  15. I'm glad you started your reply like this (it made me feel a little better, at least for a short time 🙂) and really appreciate you taking the time to supply your interpretation of an answer, it was very informative. I'm sure others will reply over time as well. As my partner and I were going over the play, we had to come up with a solution since we were talking for what seemed like 15 minutes but in reality was about 5. We came to what we thought was a reasonable agreement (right or wrong) so we could get the game moving again. I will definelty store this one is the back of my brain. Thanks again.
  16. Last night - American Legion Semi-Final playing under OBR - 18U Top of the 1st, R1 and R2, nobody out, third batter up! I'm in C. Line drive base hit to right center. The throw from the outfielder is online but late as the runner from second scores easily. The runner from first takes third on the throw to the plate and rounds the bag, the BR also rounds first. Here's where it gets good. As that first run scores and is totally clear of the dirt circle, the on-deck batter (the #4 hitter) made his way to the plate area to retrieve the bat. As I said, the throw from the outfielder was online but short-hopped the catcher, bounced over his head and sails to the backstop. As the catcher spins around to get the ball he slams right into the on-deck batter, knocking the two of them over. My partner immediately calls time. I'm not sure if we kicked this one or applied a rule incorrectly, but here's what we did. Of course we have both HC's coming out (amazingly both calm) to see what we have. We both motion for them to hang on and let us sort this out and they both return to their dugouts (yes, it does happen once in awhile). We know we have interference but our question was do we grab an out? It was in both our judgments that it didn't matter if the player retrieving the bat did so intentionally or not since he shouldn't have been there during a live ball play in the first place. Since the catcher did not have an opportunity to make a play on the next potential run, we call the runner who was on his way to score out and place the BR at first since he didn't acquire 2B at the time of the throw from the outfielder or at the time of the interference. We put the on-deck batter who started the whole mess up to bat and continue play, both coaches have no problem with what we ruled. After the game, I read thru OBR on interference and the closet I can find are rules 6.01 (b) and 6.01 (d) (attached). I'm sure I'm missing something so any help is appreciated. Thank you
  17. Sorry, just noticed this was posted in the NFHS section.
  18. https://www.nfhs.org/articles/adjustment-made-to-pre-pitch-sequence-in-high-school-baseball/?utm_campaign=coschedule&utm_source=facebook_page&utm_medium=National Federation of State High School Associations&fbclid=IwAR2ZydV7GoGjAtXPVa1boWKSz5VzGbb1WpmPANoAdS0ggBXKockJdhesWeU
  19. Help from the coaches at younger ages?? They're the ones that probably started the fight.
  20. This pic was taken at the 16U tournament we worked this past weekend. And funny you mention the running lane. The perpendicular lane starting line was only about 20' in front on the bag.
  21. I know what you mean....
  22. urout17

    Infield fly rule

    Hmm....had this happen a few years ago. 18U, OBR, R1 and R2, one out, infield playing back. The BR pops one up right over the pitchers mound. The pitcher instantly bails on the play. The SS comes racing in from deep short, trips over the mound and falls, never touching the ball. The ball hits the front end of the mound and ricochets into foul territory half way between HP and third base. I had the plate that day. Once I saw the pitcher bail I thought to myself, Ok, NOW who's gonna make this play? No IFF was called. I called foul ball and the next thing I have is a HC coming out asking why the IFF rule wasn't called. I explained the whole rule which he didn't like but walked away. It seems a lot of people don't realize there's more to the IFF rule than just runners on base.
  23. We were working a regional final on Wednesday night. Three man crew and it was my turn to be U2. Of course the setting sun is right over the head of the pitchers, BOTH who happen to be pretty good left handers. It was tough for about two innings.
  24. If I'm the HC, I know I'm getting tossed.
×
×
  • Create New...