Jump to content

BravoUmp

Inactive
  • Posts

    22
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Profile Information

  • Location
    Tennessee

More information about you

  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    D1 NCAA
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

1,489 profile views

BravoUmp's Achievements

2

Reputation

  1. Thanks! All are sold. Lock it up @Thunderheads
  2. This is the mask I wear, behind the plate or in the field. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B089Y5FXP2/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_W06TMEKCG60AFTKVEVJ8?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
  3. You can lock this up @Thunderheads. This item is sold!
  4. I have a pair of New Balance v3 Plate Shoes (mid-cut with white "N", No MLB Logo) for sale. $75.00 These are NEW and still in the Box. Size 8.5
  5. This is a Facebook post from UTD Umpires JG Utd Instructor Lee‎ regarding this particular play: This play is NOTHING. I know that this is an unpopular answer to this play, but the correct call here is no interference. For the NCAA we will use rule 8-5-d, and for OBR 6.01(a)(10). Both rules talk about how to have interference on a thrown ball, the act by the runner must be INTENTIONAL. I know there was some discussion about the fact that the batter-runner did not run immediately so by that alone he should be called out for interference. That would be incorrect here. You would need to judge that his action was something intentional. There is no rule that will back you to call him out simply because he did not immediately run. We can NOT use any rule that talks about better’s interference here; once the ball was batted this player is no longer a batter, but a batter-runner. Also, since this player is an active runner, we can’t use the rule that pertains to members off the offensive team not vacating a space for a fielder to make a play. That rule applies to on-deck hitters, coaches, runners who have already been put out and for a batter after the pitch has crossed the plate. There were a couple responses talking about obstruction here. I like how we are looking at and evaluating the entire play, but there is no OBS on this play. There is definitely the potential for it, should the ball have already passed the catcher or gone to another base, but there is nothing here. The ball was in fight directly toward and near the fielder, where he needed to occupy his position. He is considered to be in the act of fielding a thrown ball. This play was sent to the NCAA, MiLB and MLB. All three (independently) came back with a no-call here, citing the rule mentioned above about the interference needing to be intentional. And all three made the determination that the runner’s actions were not intentional here. While this is definitely a unique play, and everything we’ve been taught about common sense and fair would lead us immediately to call interference here, we need to fully understand the rule and how to apply it. Common sense and fair play can only apply if we have a rule to back us. Both ends of the stick here are dirty, and this end is definitely the dirtier end (in the public opinion). But it’s better to make the unpopular call and be supported by rule, then to make the favorable call and learn after the fact that you were incorrect. One final note here, if you should have this play in the future, and you deem the batter-runner did intentionally interfere with a thrown ball, you will call him out and return the runner(s) to their bases occupied at the time of the pitch (INT by the BR before reaching first base, runner(s) return to TOP). You would not call R3 out and award the BR first base. That rule only applies when the runner is stealing home or there is a passed ball, wild pitch and the batter interferes.
  6. In this instance, you have to go by the official NCAA video review guide. I have posted verbatim from the guide issued to NCAA umpires: 9. Hit By Pitch. Those plays for which there is a possibility that a pitched ball touches a batter, or his clothing. See, e.g., Rule 8.2 (d). Any doubt as to whether a pitched ball hit the bat (as opposed to the batter or his clothing) should be resolved by the Home Plate Umpire at that moment as hitting the bat and not the batter, and the Umpire should declare a fair or foul ball under the circumstances. Rule Change; 2019-20 8.2d.1 Allows for batter intent to be judged with the use of Instant replay, however the coach is not allowed to argue this ruling. Example 1. A pitch strikes the batter, but the Umpire erroneously rules that the pitch struck the bat instead and rules “foul ball.” The Head Coach on offense appropriately invokes replay and the Crew Chief reverses the call. The Crew Chief shall declare the ball dead at the moment it struck the batter and award bases accordingly. Example 2. A pitch strikes the bat, but the Umpire erroneously rules “hit batter – dead ball.” The Head Coach on defense appropriately invokes replay and the Crew Chief reverses the call. If the ball lands foul, the Crew Chief shall call the ball “foul.” If the ball landed fair, the Crew Chief, will acknowledge the erroneous call, return all runners to the base occupied and batter to the box, prior to the pitch and nullify the pitch. (The pitch does not count). Example 3. An umpire calls intentional hit by pitch, and rules that the batter should stay in the box and awards a strike. The offensive coach initiates a challenge or (Crew Chief, if late inning criteria are met). Upon Video Review, it is indisputable that the ball did not hit the batter, however, the ball did go all the way to the backstop. The Crew Chief will put the batter back in the box, awarding the pitch as ruled (ball or strike) and advance the runners as if the correct call would have been made originally. Should the Crew Chief rule that the runners would not have advanced (ball was in the immediate area of the catcher), then place the runner/s at their original starting position. Example 4. The offensive coach initiates a review or (crew chief), if late inning criteria are met. Following a call of a foul ball on an up and in pitch that the plate umpire rules to have hit the bat. Upon Video Review the crew chief or centralized replay determines with indisputable video evidence that the ball did hit the batter, but he intentionally tried to get hit. Even though the defense did not initiate a challenge, the entirety of HBP can be reviewed. The Crew Chief will determine the appropriate ruling on HBP, all aspects. For the purpose of deciding on HBP, any equipment worn by the batter; helmet, batting glove, or base running mitt etc. or protruding from their pocket, that is struct by the pitch will be considered part of the players uniform and therefore awarded first base, if they did not violate the intentional HBP portion of the rule. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Therefore, if the umpire rules hit by pitch (HBP), and it goes to video replay that it hit the knob of the bat, then you would follow example 2. In this case, the ball was fair, so the correct answer is to nullify the pitch and "do-over".
  7. Smitty Full Zip Thermal Jacket Size XXL. Lightly used with no defects. $25.00
  8. I have 3 shirts that I no longer need as I have lost weight and need a smaller size. $25 each or $65 for all 3. Thanks 1. Majestic MLB Side Panel Black / Gray XXL 2. Majestic MLB Side Panel Blue / Black XXL 3. Smitty MLB Side Panel Black / Gray Long Sleeve XXL
  9. I have a used once XL Smitty Convertible Jacket that I would like to sell or trade for a size Lg. I have lost weight and the XL is too big on me. Contact me for info or trade. Thanks.
  10. BravoUmp

    $100 Challenge

    Food for thought... Rule 8j A.R. 1 No run may score on ANY play when the third out is either a force out or the result of a batter-runner failure to reach first base safely. NO Runs would score under this rule!
×
×
  • Create New...