ErichKeane Posted Tuesday at 02:48 PM Report Share Posted Tuesday at 02:48 PM So story from a few weeks ago I was reminded about, so figured i'd share:) OBR rules tourney (with some various modifications that are unimportant). UIC/TDs have no problem with the coaches at the door on the bucket, so we allow it. I've never seen it come into play, every time it hits the bucket, it was going to go into the dugout anyway... until: Weird shaped dugouts, they have only 1 entrance onto the field on the 'home plate' side, and are cut into the field. You can see them here : ) There are now roofs on the dugouts, but the only opening is the home-side. There is also a concrete 'lip' now thanks to the dirt getting lower over time. As I've said, I've never seen the bucket matter before, but did 2x in 1 game: Top of ~2nd inning, VT in the 3rd base dugout, 1st and 2nd. Batter hits a ball to RF, RF sees R2 going around 3rd, and fires home. AND hits the VT's coach's bucket and goes into the dugout. I kill it, and leave the bases loaded. Coach comes out and asks why there are no base awards, I explain that it hit the bucket, so its a dead ball, and I can't give him benefit for his bucket causing the problem. He says 'well, it would have gone in the dugout anyway!', and I said that I don't really judge it that way, the concrete lip and the angle it came in makes that impossible to judge, so I just killed it. He relents, and goes back onto his bucket. BOTTOM of the same inning. R2, grounder to F5 who throws it over the 1B head. R2 is stopping at 3rd, but F3 gets a little excited and fires home.... and bonks right off the same bucket (though was clearly not going into the dugout). I call time, award two bases to everyone. Coach says from the dugout (not really a yell, since its like 15 feet, but loud enough I can hear): "Award because it is my bucket?" Me: "Yep". Him: "Urgh.... *yells* Sorry guys, that one is on me!" and moves his bucket into the dugout with his head held in shame. He came up to me after the game and said he'd never even heard of it happening before, and had discussed it with UIC during the game, and was amazed I 'got it right' despite being such an obscure rule. I responded, "thats why they pay us the little bucks!", and he chuckled, said "see you later, have a good one!" and walked away. 6 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Please sign in to comment
You will be able to leave a comment after signing in
Sign In Now