Jump to content
  • 0

MR


Guest SAN ANTONIO
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 3152 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

Question

Guest SAN ANTONIO
Posted

Situation: bases loaded, batted ball hits runner going to second, does the runner on third scores ? 

  • Answers 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
Posted

No.  R1 is out and the BR is awarded first.  R2 and R3 return.

There are situations where the runner getting hit with the batted ball is nothing, and there are circumstances where this would be a double play, but in an effort to give a simple answer to your simple question, I will leave those out.

  • 0
Posted

The umpire should have called interference, but my question is, does he then call "Time" to kill the play? Or does that come with the interference call?

  • 0
Posted
3 minutes ago, Mister B said:

The umpire should have called interference, but my question is, does he then call "Time" to kill the play? Or does that come with the interference call?

IIRC interference is immediate dead ball (with rare exception) 

  • 0
Posted
25 minutes ago, Mister B said:

The umpire should have called interference, but my question is, does he then call "Time" to kill the play? Or does that come with the interference call?

The proper mechanic for this situation is:

  1. Time!
  2. That's interference!
  3. [Point at R1] He's out!
  4. [Point at BR] You, 1B!
  5. [Point at R2] You, 2B!
  6. [Point at R3] You, 3B!
  • Like 1
×
×
  • Create New...