Jump to content


Established Member
  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Profile Information

  • Location

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

3,631 profile views

refump10's Achievements



  1. Justin, I sent you a PM. Got some stuff that might help
  2. Okay thanks. Trying to put together some training materials for my group
  3. Looking for a little clarification in regards to FED rules about a fielder blocking a base without the ball. Specifically, is there guidance about how much of the base can be blocked by a fielder that is permissible? I'm thinking about a standard pickoff at first base where F3 has his foot on the side of the bag facing second base. Thanks.
  4. refump10

    Tag or no tag

    Fed Rule 2-24-4: A tag out is the put out of a runner, including the batter-runner, who is not in contact with his base when touched with a live ball, or with the glove or hand when the live ball is held securely therein by a fielder. The ball is not considered as having been securely held if it is juggled or dropped after the touching, unless the runner deliberately knocks the ball from the hand of the fielder (8-4-2h2) Someone (Maven, you come to mind with your rules mastery) can correct me if I'm wrong, but I equate the action of a tag with the action of a catch. That is, a player has to demonstrate secure possession of the ball throughout the "continuing action" of the play as demonstrated by control of one's body and/or voluntary release of the baseball. I distinctly remember a video clip from the CWS a couple years ago where F1 fielded a bouncer close to the first base line and dived to tag the batter-runner and lost control of the ball when he contacted the ground (well after the tag was made). The umpire was miked and you could hear him explain to the coach that the pitcher had to demonstrate "control of his body" throughout the play.
  5. refump10


    Thanks Maven. I got a little "tunnel vision" and didn't expand my thinking to the hindrance part of the equation. This is another case where I wish FED would clean up the rule and conform with OBR (and college) and just get rid of the "thrown" and "throw" words. Deleting those two words would fix it.
  6. refump10


    I was reading the other thread about the RLI called in a Little League game. The discussion went briefly to the HS interpretation of the ruling. I thought I would move over to the High School section to continue that part of the discussion to avoid high jacking the other thread. There was a quotation in one of the posts that quoted and interp from 2004: SITUATION 19: B1 bunts and F2 fields the ball in fair territory in front of home plate. B1 is running in foul territory when F2, in fair territory, throws errantly and hits B1 in the back. B1 continues running and touches first base. RULING: The play stands. F2 made an errant throw. Although B1 was not in the running lane, his position did not interfere with F2’s throw. (8-4-1g Exception)" My confusion over this interpretation is that I thought in FED that quality of throw is not a factor when determining RLI. I also note that in the 2017 Rule Book, there is no exception listed to 8-4-1g. I think this ruling should correct, but I'm having a hard time seeing how this ruling conforms with the rule as written. Thoughts?
  7. refump10

    Rawling's NC HC

    In college ball, that is correct. There is no such arrangement for high school, although I think a couple of states have adopted the college rule. There is no such provision in pro ball
  8. I had this pop up yesterday with a little twist. Pitch up and in hits the batter's hand. I award him the base and DHC comes out and asks where this pitch hit him. "It hit his hand" "But the hand's part of the bat!" "No Joe, that's not correct." It went back and forth like this for a bit and finally Joe walked back to the dugout convinced I didn't know the rule. Whatever, he went back to the dugout and life went on. His team got blasted 20-1.
  9. refump10


    I saw him a couple of years ago when he was a sophomore. Very smooth, deceptively fast cause he doesn't appear to be expending any effort, but man he covers some ground. Louisville might have a hard time getting him on campus in the fall. Somebody told me that he is being projected as a top ten pick in the draft. Don't know if that's true, but that would mean a lot of money for him when he signs a contract.
  10. Sorry to answer my own question, but I think I found the answer to my question. Case Book 3.1.1 Situation N. Without regurgitating the whole thing, this is considered a projected substitution. A courtesy runner is only allowed for either the pitcher or catcher on defense before coming to bat, since projected substitutions are not allowed.
  11. F1 #6 is replaced in the bottom of the fourth by new F1 #26. In top of 7th, #6 reenters as a pinch hitter for #26 and singles. HC wants to use a courtesy runner for #6, since he hit for the pitcher. Is this legal? Couldn't find anywhere in the rule book or case book addressing this situation. Thanks for the help.
  12. Just finished the test last night. Followed my normal practice of cracking open a beer when reading the first question. Three beers and about an hour later, it's all done! I have found a little lubrication is just the thing to get through it
  13. Been freezing my butt off the past several weeks. Tonight has plate with a start time of 5:30 and first pitch temp of 41. Decent pace of game; went 1:50. Wore UA Cold Gear LS, topped by full turtleneck and then a sweatshirt. CP went over that, and Smitty version of Thermabase topping it off. Was glad to have it when temps were 37 at end with a 10 mph breeze. I know a lot of you guys up north will be laughing at me, but I was glad to have all that on. I don't like wearing the Thermabase on the plate, (it's really bulky, and sometimes my TG catches somewhere) but I absolutely hate being cold!
  14. Thanks Jim.. I read right over that section three times while looking for it.
  15. What Greyhound said. I can only think of one instance where an award will be restricted is when with R1, B2 hits safely to RF. F9 attempts to throw out B2 after he rounds the bag, and his throw goes into the dugout. For some reason R1 has not made it to second yet at the time of the throw. The award would be to give R1 third base and B2 would be to second. I'm trying to find a rule and/or case book reference backing this up, but haven't found it yet. Maybe some other member can help me out.
  • Create New...