Jump to content

grozzly

Established Member
  • Content Count

    157
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

grozzly last won the day on December 6 2015

grozzly had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

33 Neutral

About grozzly

  • Birthday 02/15/1974

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling
  • Location
    Bretagne, France

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    CRAB BZH
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

4,380 profile views
  1. Here in France, no trainings, no championships until June 1st.....
  2. Yes, everything can happen in baseball, that's why i love this game... Yesterday, i was umpiring a french D1 senior game (playoffs). Top of 9th, 6-5 home team. Visiting tem at bat, 2 outs, bases loaded. Here comes the pitch, and guess what: the ball lodges in the catcher's chest protector....Dead ball, award 1 base for runners, game is tied..... We go for extra-innings, and in the 10th, visiting team score twice for the win..... On the play, the home team's american coach asked me: "who writed this rule ???" Me: "well, i guess the american did....."
  3. grozzly

    ejection

    Division 2 senior game in France. HT's pitcher balks. R2, the pitcher lifts his free foot, and makes a 2-second stop while his leg's up...Both , my teamate and I call the balk. The shortstop tells my teamate (base umpire) that he should read the rules, and throws his glove on the ground. He then says to him that he never saw him umpiring well , and finishes with a nice "you're a criminal".....What else?
  4. Hello America ! Here in France, i had a case this sunday...i'd like to have your opinions... With my teamate, we refused to let the coach of a team take his place in the 3rd base coach box. Why? He was injured (operation of Achille's tendon 10 days ago) and was walking with a plaster on his leg and crutches....He asked us why he couldn't take his place, which rule?? We involved the 8.01 (c) rule and told him that it was dangerous for him and for his own security, it was not reasonable to be in a coach box..... Did someone had to manage this kind of situation??
  5. very funny ^^ The level in France is not that bad as you could think. Elite is the "highest level..." in category senior. There are some good pitchers above 85mph (1 or 2 90mph+). Each of the 12 teams have imports from the US, Venezuela, Dominican Rep.....to elevate their level and play European cups. For the US pitchers who come in France for the season, some played at NCAA level, A, or AA. I would say that for an amateur umpire like me, it's incredible to have the dish on such pitchers.
  6. OBR. 2-men system. French elite game. Situation: R1, no outs. I'm PU. R1 stealing with the batter swinging. The batter swings & miss, and interferes with the catcher's throw to 2nd base. I call the interference and let the play go on as the throw goes to 2nd. But the runner gets into a rundown, and is retired. The pbuc says that the throw must retire the runner "directly", but OBR just say that if the runner is retired by the throw, we must ignore the interference. My question: should i have enforce the interference as the runner has been caught in a rundown or should i've let the
  7. very very good job. Ready for 15-innings games !!!
  8. Hi blues ! I started to take care of my body one year ago. 5 years with no sports, but some wine & cigarettes While i was in search of clothes and realized that nothing fitted me, i started to think about it.....I starded a program (i know, dangerous...) on 6 weeks to loose at least 15lbs. No sugar, no fat, no fruits...proteins, vegetables, some little rice & pastas etc...AND a lot of SPORTS !!! Fitness, fitness fitness.......I lost 30 lbs in these 6 weeks. I decided to stop this diet (digestive problems) but to continue with sports. 4 sessions a week of fitness, i start
  9. What if, in the same play, the pitcher's free foot lands towards first instead of second base in this strange attempt of pickoff move to second?
  10. Exactly ! that's what i was thinking about. Once his free foot has moved off the plate, he has no other solution than pitching to the batter, so it doesn't change anything if he stops his motion for a second, he must throw to the batter anyway...
  11. Hello USA ! I was watching a french game on FB this week-end and saw something i've never seen before. R3, outs don't matter, OBR. RHP is in wind up, starts his motion, and as he raises his free foot, stops for a good second, "fixing the runner" before going towards home plate to make his pitch. I know we call a balk if the pitcher does this if in set-up, but what about if he does it during a wind-up ?? Thanks ^^
  12. grozzly

    intervening play

    Thanks guys ! very helpful ! as usual....^^
  13. grozzly

    intervening play

    Because i'm french and i should have said "outside" !!!
  14. grozzly

    intervening play

    hello USA !! A question about intervening play. R3, less than 2 outs. Runner stealing home on the pitch, the batter hits a poor grounder in front of the catcher. While the catcher picks up the ball, R3 scores. Catcher throws to first but BR within the 3-foot lane and the throw hits him in the back and the umpire calls an interference. Does the run score ? The fact that R3 stole home is considered as an intervening play or not ? Thanks ^^
  15. Hello everybody !! Couldn't find a topic on Carter Capps' delivery Why not calling that an illegal pitch? Why would it be legal ? I need your opinions...
×
×
  • Create New...