Jump to content

gdpmumin

Inactive
  • Content Count

    48
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

-1

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)
  1. My thoughts exactly, carolinablue.
  2. There is no crying in baseball. I tried to teach my t-ball player son that this season. It was hot, about two days after a massive storm took the roof off the dugout his team was using, and they were getting no shelter from the sun. He wasn't the only one crying about being hot and sweaty and thirsty. But I looked at him and said, "Son, I know you're hot. I am, too. But there's no crying in baseball." He responded, "How do you know?" <_<
  3. Dixie Youth Baseball, actually. There have been many times, however, that I would have preferred to be setup inside. But given the shortness of the field, I'm sure that would be a rather dangerous prospect.
  4. This is where my inexperience comes in. Does that include F3? I've read that rule many times and thought of game situations where it might happen that the ball had no chance to pass a fielder before hitting an umpire and haven't been able to come up with any. I mean, it seems that it will almost always pass at least F3 before it gets to the umpire, even umpires who set up inside. For my purposes, because I set up outside when I'm BU, there really is no chance that it won't pass a fielder before getting to me, even if I bust in on a play. So this is an academic exercise for me. But I would a
  5. This is where my inexperience comes in. Does that include F3? I've read that rule many times and thought of game situations where it might happen that the ball had no chance to pass a fielder before hitting an umpire and haven't been able to come up with any. I mean, it seems that it will almost always pass at least F3 before it gets to the umpire, even umpires who set up inside. For my purposes, because I set up outside when I'm BU, there really is no chance that it won't pass a fielder before getting to me, even if I bust in on a play. So this is an academic exercise for me. But I would a
  6. Here is something to fit nicely in your ball bag. http://www.ump-attir...Product_Count=3 Looks like a great product. I'll definitely look into that. Thanks for the link.
  7. I'm not going to dispute the logic behind your suggestion, yawetag, because it's obviously wise. I'm just wondering about the logistics of it. There isn't much room to carry a notepad and pen in your ball bag. You might use the lineup card, but in DYB, umpires are by rule forbidden to carry a lineup card. So I don't have anything to write with or on when I'm on the field. The first chance I would have to write notes about an ejection would actually not be until after the game. I know when talking through game situations in post-games with my partner we don't always remember the exact inning in
  8. Two thoughts: 1) Doesn't the runner have to step into the dugout or something for it to be considered abandonment? As I understand the OP, BR was still on the field. 2) It's LL. He misunderstood the call. Call time, lecture the runner, put him back on first. No out. It's not like he committed to second base and got caught in the act of attempting to obtain a base.
  9. I went to an Augusta GreenJackets (Single A affiliate of the SF Giants) game Saturday night and really enjoyed watching the two-man system done well. Two things I noticed about the PU: 1) PU always had his thumb out, but it wasn't part of the signal. In other words, for signaling two outs to his partner, he used the index and middle fingers, but the thumb was also out. That would actually confuse me until I got used to working with that partner. 2) His strike call was a point to the right. He pivoted on both feet simultaneously to the right and made his strike call with the index finger
  10. Suggestions on specific indicators for this? I like the one I have (Diamond chrome) because it doesn't feel cheap like the plastic ones. It's a 3-2-2 (good) but it shows strikes first (bad). All the ones I've seen (or paid attention to, I guess) were strike first indicators.
  11. Wow. Seeing that brings to mind the myth about a tie going to the runner were true. That's about as close as it gets. I still think I would have an out there.
  12. That's what got me. The grin. Hernandez knew full well what he was doing. The arguments have convinced me that there's probably no call here, but seeing the grin (I'm sure I would not have seen it in live action if I were PU), I really want to call him out.
  13. I understand this is a highly subjective call, and I can definitely understand that some may not have interference here for a variety of good reasons, but, really? He doesn't know where the fielder is? Anywhere else on the field and I would give you that argument. But not at home plate. Hernandez knows with precision where the fielder is. He knows where F2 is in relation to the ball and he knows he's exactly between the two.
  14. I have interference. I don't know why shielding F2 from picking up the ball would be any different than an interference call on any other base.
×
×
  • Create New...