Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
BigVic69

Obstruction?

Question

Little League rule set.

Batter hits a grounder to 3rd baseman.

The ball is thrown such that the 1st baseman needs to move off the base to "attempt" to stop the ball (which he misses).

The batter collides just on the other side of 1st base with this fielder.

The batter-runner makes a move to 2nd base, but decides to go back to 1st base (safely).

Is this obstruction?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
49 minutes ago, BigVic69 said:

Little League rule set.

Batter hits a grounder to 3rd baseman.

The ball is thrown such that the 1st baseman needs to move off the base to "attempt" to stop the ball (which he misses).

The batter collides just on the other side of 1st base with this fielder.

The batter-runner makes a move to 2nd base, but decides to go back to 1st base (safely).

Is this obstruction?

Yes. In LL rules the fielder is guilty of obstruction unless he has possession of the ball.  There is no "in the act of fielding" in LL rules.  And if the ball was past the fielder he was no longer  fielding anyhow.

As the fielder was NOT making a play on the batter-runner the umpire gets to decide where to place the runner. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Great, that is what I called.  I was certain of the decision I made...but wanted other eyes on the topic.

Of course no matter what you choose, 1/2 the stadium cheers while the other 1/2 boos.  

ha ha ha

Take care fellows.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
31 minutes ago, Rich Ives said:

As the fielder was NOT making a play on the batter-runner the umpire gets to decide where to place the runner

Although that's true as far as it goes, the penalty for OBS of this type is to award bases in order to nullify the act of OBS. This provision constrains what the umpire may properly "decide" (the award is non-arbitrary). So, at the risk of boring Coach, I'll expand a bit for others in the "Ask the Umpire" forum.

We determine the award at the end of playing action, taking all events subsequent to the OBS into account. So, for the OP, if the throw ends up rolling around short RF and the collision prevented the BR from taking 2B, then we should award 2B. If the throw bounces off the fence back to F3 such that, without the OBS, the runner could not have safely reached 2B, then we should award 1B. Any benefit of the doubt goes to the runner.

Further, if we would have awarded 2B, but the BR tries for 3B and is thrown out by a mile, that out will stand. If it's a close play at 3B, of course, that's some evidence that we should nullify the OBS by awarding 3B. And, had there been other runners not affected by the OBS, any outs made on them would stand (an award to them is not needed to nullify the OBS).

A more accurate statement of the umpire's "decision" here would be: "the umpire gets to decide what award would nullify the OBS."

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...