Jump to content

flyingron

Members
  • Posts

    127
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

flyingron last won the day on December 27 2020

flyingron had the most liked content!

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

flyingron's Achievements

27

Reputation

  1. Depends what you mean by "turn left." Any move toward second is considered as an attempt to go there rather than returning first under the overrun rule. If steps toward second, he loses the overrun protection. If he's just turning 180 degrees to go back to first, it doesn't matter which way he rotates.
  2. The USA 2020 Rulebook (which I'm pretty sure applies to ASA fastpitch) says Section 5 - Scoring of Runs B. No run shall be scored if the third out of the inning is the result of: 1 A batter-runner being called out prior to reaching first base or any other runner forced out due to the batter becoming a batter-runner. On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurred. Therefore, if the batter-runner or trail runner is put out prior to an appeal, the out on the appeal will not be considered a force out. The boldened part is what applies
  3. Good think Joe's working the NL game. He's not the most liked man in Boston right now (especially not in a game with the Yankees involved).
  4. And subsequently he was involved in a very sad incident in a small plane he was flying: https://www.nhregister.com/connecticut/article/Derby-businessman-who-created-the-Defender-11323065.php
  5. And it's a force whether they tag him or they touch second holding the ball.
  6. Get out! And don't come back until you've redeemed yourself.
  7. I've been hearing about it all day from my father (70+ year bosox fan who grew up north of Boston).
  8. Wasn't trying to redirect discussion, just wanted to provide additional information.
  9. Close Call Sports covers this in the ensuing ejection discussion: https://www.closecallsports.com/2021/09/mlb-ejection-185-bill-miller-4-mike.html
  10. 2021 is here: https://img.mlbstatic.com/mlb-images/image/upload/mlb/atcjzj9j7wrgvsm8wnjq.pdf (and still in the same section number, now page 56).
  11. There's no "force" here possible at all. Throwing to first to get the batter-runner out, would have made the run not count, but it's technically not a force. If you're claiming because the unforced R2 runner was put out before BR got to first makes the run not count, that's not right. This is a time play unless you made a play on the batter runner to get him out. Since the third out was on R2, this is a time play and if R3 got to the plate before R2 was put out, the run counts. The key (if you're using OBR) is this from 5.08(a) How a Team Scores (a)  One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
  12. CCS analysis here (on the missed appeal part): https://www.closecallsports.com/2021/09/losing-appeal-astros-draw-d-backs-into.html The original post video did have a nice split screen showing the timing between the original fly ball and R3 leaving the base.
  13. flyingron

    Home Run

    The OBR does say that. It practically defines the out-of-park Home Run (and was the first section I quoted aove): A fair ball passes over a fence or into the stands at a distance from home base of 250 feet or more. Such hit entitles the batter to a home run when he shall have touched all bases legally.
  14. flyingron

    Home Run

    The rulebook MLB uses is here by the way: https://img.mlbstatic.com/mlb-images/image/upload/mlb/atcjzj9j7wrgvsm8wnjq.pdf I assume you mean when the batter hits a fair ball out of the park... If he wants it to count as a home run, he has to touch all the bases, and can be called/put out if he does not. This shows up in several places in the rules 5.05(a)(9), 5.06(b)(1), 5.09(c)(2).
×
×
  • Create New...