Jump to content

chalen

Members
  • Posts

    35
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Profile Information

  • Location
    Seattle, Washington

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

2,496 profile views

chalen's Achievements

5

Reputation

  1. R2 and R3, no outs. R2 interferes with a fielder who is in the act of fielding a batted ball. The ball is dead, the runner is out, and the batter-runner is awarded first base. If R3 scored before the interference, does the run score or is he returned to his time-of-pitch base? a) OBR? b) Little League?
  2. chalen

    Balk Award

    We also "leave live" a balk wild pitch, balk wild throw to a base, balk dropped third strike, balk ball four with runners going or forced. Anything else?
  3. chalen

    Balk Award II

    OBR. R1, stealing on the pitch. The pitcher using the set position balks by failing to come to a discernible stop but delivers the pitch. The batter lays down a bunt. F2 fields the batted ball and throws out the batter-runner at 1B. Obviously we have a no-pitch and we will enforce the balk. Because the batter did not achieve 1B, do we kill the play immediately when the out is recorded at 1B, regardless the location of R1? If R1 was already on 3B when the out was recorded, is R1 still returned to 2B?
  4. chalen

    Balk Award

    Thanks, maven! I didn't frame this situation properly for the question I was wondering. But you answered one of my other questions.
  5. chalen

    Balk Award

    Oops, I meant to specify OBR of course. Thanks.
  6. chalen

    Balk Award

    R1 and R2 (on 1B and 2B, of course). The pitcher balks with a feint to 1B, then throws the ball past 1B. R2 scores, but R1 (who dove back to 1B and was slow to advance), is tagged out while attempting to reach 2B. So we enforce the balk. Obviously R1 gets 2B. Is R2 returned to 3B?
  7. Supposedly in NFHS, R1 can still score, after the third out is recorded, according to https://www.closecallsports.com/2016/05/losing-home-run-runner-passing-case.html. In OBR and NCAA, it's a timing play.
  8. R1, two outs. Any rule set. Batter hits a home run just beyond the reach of a leaping F8. R1, thinking the ball may have been caught, freezes halfway to 2B. F8 pretends to remove the ball from his glove and throw to 1B. R1, seeing this, retreats toward 1B, and the batter-runner passes R1. Is the batter-runner out? If so, can R1 still score?
  9. A batted ball deflects off the pitcher and hits the base umpire in the B or C position, in front of the middle infielders. Is this umpire interference?
  10. R2. Any rule set. Pitcher on the rubber in set position, with his free foot one meter in front of the rubber. He lifts his free foot and steps toward 2B, then feints or throws to 2B. My question is HOW FAR must his free foot step? Certainly the foot must clear the footprint of where his foot was when he came set. Can the free foot land IN FRONT of the rubber (i.e., on the home plate side of the rubber)? Would that constitute distance and direction to 2B? Or must the free foot step to, or behind, the pivot foot?
  11. (This was asked on Facebook, but the correct answers are always found here.) Any rule set. R2. Less than two outs. Outfield base hit. R2 is obstructed rounding 3B and the umpire judges R2 will be protected home. R2 is tagged out at the plate while the batter-runner is heading for 2B. Do you kill the play at the time of the apparent out (and award R2 home, and award BR wherever you think he would have achieved without the obstruction), or do you leave the play live and wait for a play at 2B? OBR 6.01(h)(2), "If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play shall proceed until no further action is possible." I interpret this to mean that if no play is being made on the obstructed runner AT THE TIME OF THE OBSTRUCTION, let everything play out.
  12. A twist on the hidden ball trick... B1 reaches 1B. The ball remains live as the pitcher and first-baseman confer. The first-baseman goes to the mound and positions himself astride the pitcher's plate, intending to fool the runner that the pitcher is astride the pitcher's plate. The real pitcher, with the ball hidden in his glove, walks to 1B and pretends to be the first-baseman. B1 steps off 1B and is tagged by F1. Balk? Out? "Time! Don't do that again!"? F1 and F3 are identical twins.
  13. Clarification: F8 was still on the field throughout this action.
  14. My partner did put him on 3B. That seemed reasonable at the moment, considering the defense screwed up. But there doesn't seem to be any rule support for this other than the dreaded 9.01(c). Maybe we should have held him at 2B. He would have been safe at 2B without the extra ball.
  15. OBR. No runners. Before the pitch, F8 yells to the dugout that he was paged and has to leave immediately, and begins running off the field. The plate umpire doesn’t realize this, and time is neither requested nor granted. Batter hits a ground ball to F6, who overthrows 1B before the batter runner reaches 1B. The ball rolls toward the 1B dugout, and comes to rest in live ball territory. The batter runner heads for 2B. A defensive substitute planning to take over at centerfield exits the dugout. (Yes, of course they cannot substitute while the ball is live.) He does not realize the live ball is there, and he discards a different ball that he had been carrying, a few feet away from the live ball. The sub intentionally dropped the ball, but not with intent to confuse. F3 runs over and picks up the wrong ball and throws to 2B for a play on the batter runner. In the umpire’s judgement, if the wrong ball not been there and F3 played the correct ball, the batter runner would have been (a) safe at 2B, or (b) out at 2B. Call it! This is similar to intentional interference by an authorized person, in which case the umpire imposes whatever would have happened without the interference--but the sub wasn't authorized to be out of the dugout, and he didn't touch the live ball.
×
×
  • Create New...