Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'award'.
Found 4 results
R1 and R2 (on 1B and 2B, of course). The pitcher balks with a feint to 1B, then throws the ball past 1B. R2 scores, but R1 (who dove back to 1B and was slow to advance), is tagged out while attempting to reach 2B. So we enforce the balk. Obviously R1 gets 2B. Is R2 returned to 3B?
OBR Rule Set: Runner on First, outs don't matter. Pitcher rolls through coming set, delivers ball (count was 2-1). Umpires call "Balk". Batter takes pitch without swinging. R1 stealing on the pitch. Catcher throws it into centerfield. R1 rounds second and heads for third. I think there was an error when the "Time" was called and the runner was placed back at second. R1 should have been allowed to advance at his own jeopardy. If he made third, then bonus for him. If he was thrown out, then under OBR-he is out. We would nullify the pitch and play on, correct? ____________________________________ I believe this was confused with an interference call where if the catcher does not retire the runner on the immediate throw-we kill the play. Any comments and/or rule references would be appreciated.
OBR. R1, stealing on the pitch. The pitcher using the set position balks by failing to come to a discernible stop but delivers the pitch. The batter lays down a bunt. F2 fields the batted ball and throws out the batter-runner at 1B. Obviously we have a no-pitch and we will enforce the balk. Because the batter did not achieve 1B, do we kill the play immediately when the out is recorded at 1B, regardless the location of R1? If R1 was already on 3B when the out was recorded, is R1 still returned to 2B?
Hey all, I know Referee Magazine has been wrong many times in the past, but can someone confirm that the answer given in this quiz for OBR is incorrect? a. Legal advance. b. The ball is dead when F1 balks. c. R1 may advance no farther than second and R2 may advance no farther than third. d. B3 is out. Answer given: 3. - NFHS - b (5-1-k); NCAA, pro - c, d (NCAA pro 8.05 Pen) In this case, for OBR, you allow the play to continue, but once the ball is caught, time should be called and the balk must be enforced because the BR did not advance on the play. The balk can only be ignored if all runners, including the BR, advance at least one base. C seems correct since the result is to enforce the balk, but D is not correct since B3 is not out. He should return to bat with the same count as before the balk. Is this right, or have I suffered an aneurysm?