RBIbaseball Posted May 13, 2024 Report Posted May 13, 2024 NHFS (although I don't think it changes with ruleset) Batter squares around to bunt with 2 strikes Batter clearly pulls back bunt, but inside pitch hits knob and goes foul My thought is that it's not longer a bunt attempt, so no out, correct? 2 Quote
BigBlue4u Posted May 13, 2024 Report Posted May 13, 2024 47 minutes ago, RBIbaseball said: Batter squares around to bunt with 2 strikes Batter clearly pulls back bunt, but inside pitch hits knob and goes foul My thought is that it's not longer a bunt attempt, so no out, correct? If you have a rule book, look up the definition of a bunt. Then, answer the question yourself. 1 Quote
RBIbaseball Posted May 13, 2024 Author Report Posted May 13, 2024 1 hour ago, BigBlue4u said: If you have a rule book, look up the definition of a bunt. Then, answer the question yourself. great idea 1 Quote
RBIbaseball Posted May 13, 2024 Author Report Posted May 13, 2024 let me ask it a different way If you're squared around to bunt, and you pull the bat back, but the ball still hits the bat (maybe the barrel, not the knob - bad example) as it's being pulled back At that point it is judgement on whether you were still attempting to strike at the ball with a bunt, right? If a kid pulls back a little too slow and it hits off the end of the bat, and you say "foul ball" - "no bunt attempt"... I could see that being a very upset defensive coach. But in the end, it's judgement on whether the batter was trying to not make contact or whether that was part of the bunt attempt 1 Quote
MadMax Posted May 13, 2024 Report Posted May 13, 2024 1 hour ago, RBIbaseball said: great idea @BigBlue4u is on to something valid, albeit his bedside manner is a little cold 🥶. You’re unaware that you’re answering your own question. Look… 1 hour ago, RBIbaseball said: If you're squared around to bunt, and you pull the bat back, but the ball still hits the bat (maybe the barrel, not the knob - bad example) as it's being pulled back So, if you simply “square around”… have you bunted yet? Simply intending to bunt does not necessarily mean that a bunt – a legally defined bunt – is going to happen. If you pull the bat back, is this a (legally defined) bunt? That act can’t be both. There’s a comparative question presented regarding a bunt, that is eerily similar to a HBP – “Did the batter meet (or offer at) the pitch, or did the pitch find the bat?” 1 Quote
RBIbaseball Posted May 16, 2024 Author Report Posted May 16, 2024 On 5/13/2024 at 1:59 AM, MadMax said: @BigBlue4u is on to something valid, albeit his bedside manner is a little cold 🥶. You’re unaware that you’re answering your own question. It became evident that I knew the answer to my own question. My "great idea" response was both sarcastic and genuine at the same time (if that's possible?). Sometimes I get caught up and have to unturn every stone, disprove every fallacy, and ask stupid questions to confirm what I think I know doesn't have any holes. I have to challenge my understanding, albeit this time unnecessarily in hind sight. I appreciate your patience and understanding. 2 Quote
CricketChapman Posted May 18, 2024 Report Posted May 18, 2024 The video link no longer works but you might be able to find it elsewhere on the interwebs: https://www.closecallsports.com/2012/05/ejection-026-jim-joyce-1.html Quote
MT73 Posted June 7, 2024 Report Posted June 7, 2024 Ejection 026: Jim Joyce (1) 1B Umpire Jim Joyce ejected Astros Manager Brad Mills for arguing a foul ball call in the bottom of the 8th inning of the Astros-Pirates game. With none out and one on, Pirates batter Clint Barmes fouled off a 1-2 sinker from Astros pitcher Wilton Lopez. Originally, Home Plate umpire James Hoye ruled that Barmes attempted to bunt the ball, thus ruling strike three for a fouled off bunt with two strikes. After Pirates Manager Clint Hurdle came out, Hoye conferred with crewmates. After conferring, Hoye ruled that Barmes did not bunt, thus the foul ball kept the count 1-2.* Replays indicate Barmes successfully brought his bat back and successfully checked his swing, but the ball did touch the bat. Under OBR Rule 2.00, a bunt is defined as "a batted ball not swung at, but intentionally met with the bat and tapped slowly within the infield." Since Barmes did not intentionally meet the ball with his bat, it did not satisfy OBR Rule 6.05(d) for a bunt foul third strike. The call was correct.^ At the time of the ejection, the Astros were leading, 1-0. The Astros ultimately won the contest, 1-0. This is Jim Joyce (66)'s first ejection of 2012. Jim Joyce now has 3 points in the UEFL (0 Previous + 2 MLB + 1 Correct Call [Crewmate]* = 3). Crew Chief Jim Joyce now has 1 point in the Crew Division (1 Previous + 1 Correct Call = 2). *James Hoye is the calling umpire and Jim Joyce the secondary umpire under UEFL Rule 6-2-c-1-a. ^This call is correct under OBR Rule 2.00 and Rule 6.05(d). UEFL Standings Update 1 1 Quote
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.