Jump to content

Lhaber9

Inactive
  • Content Count

    14
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

10 Neutral

About Lhaber9

  • Birthday June 25

Contact Methods

  • AIM
    theletterzsucks
  1. Lhaber9

    Base Awards

    I had a travel game the other day. The game was on a turf field. next to the door in the gate there is a concrete section and a section where parents and fans sit, this area is all dead ball area. With a runner on second and third and 1 out, the batter pops the ball into foul territory near the third base dugout. The third baseman runs over and makes the catch. The runner on third is off the bag and instead of throwing to the second baseman covering at third, the third baseman decides to chase the runner. With the ball in his non-glove hand he reaches out to tag the runner. in the process the
  2. Lhaber9

    Unknown Rules

    id have to agree with base awards being the most unknown rule. I work mostly intramural games so there are a ton of overthrows. i have never once had a coach who fully understood the rules for base awards. they dont understand first play by an infielder, bases being awarded from the time of the throw, or the concept of an acquired base. whenever i tell a coach that a ball thrown out of play always results in 2 bases for each runner, and all that is in question is from when, they look at me like im crazy. another unknown rule is the 3 base award for a batted ball being touched by a players
  3. so say the throw comes from the catcher, goes over the runners shoulder and the first basemen drops the ball. If you rule that he would have caught it if hte runner wasnt there, its interference?
  4. Lhaber9

    Balks

    It seems to me that you just described the purpose of the rule. You said that it doesnt decieve him if he takes off on first movement. If this rule was not in place you could spin to first and trick the runner if hes going on first movement.
  5. i have thought about going to one of the professional umpire schools after high school. i thought mabye i could take a year off between high school and college and go to on eof the schools for part of that year. is that a good time to go? is there an age requierment or something like that?
  6. Lhaber9

    Base Awards

    the only reason i could see for the coach arguing the call, is that in order for the base award to be one base the pitcher must throw from the rubber. There are multiple pickoffs to firstbase for a right handed pitcher. you can step off the rubber, spin and throw. or you can do what i call a spin step where you dont completely disengage from the rubber. for a lefty you can just lift your right leg, step to first and throw. If it was the first one, the pitcher is no longer throwing from the rubber so it would be a base award of 2 bases. This is how i understand the rule, correct me if i am wron
  7. when a base coach assists a runner, do you declare the runner out immediately or at he end of the play as stated in the OP? doesn't the rulebook say the penalty for interference it that the runner is out and the ball is dead? does this mean that when a base coach assists a runner the umpire should call the play dead and declare the runner out? this would mean no other runners could advance on the play. also, what if the runner when rounding third trips over the third base coach. this is obviously not assisting the runner so nothing would happen right?
  8. Lhaber9

    Base Awards

    I just thought of something else in regards to the original post that i made. Say after the throw went to third, the runner who was on first rounded third, before the throw got to the third baseman. I know this seems unlikely. But if the ball were to go out of play does the runner go back to third? What if the third baseman were to intentionaly let it go out of play? Is the call different?
  9. one time i was working a 12-13 year old game. it was a 2 man game and i was behind home plate. with one out and a runner on third, there was a ground ball to SS. he looked the runner back, and then threw to first. The first baseman caught the ball and was very clearly off the base. i could see it from where i was standing. My partner made what i thought was a very clear safe call, he spread his arms wide and then motioned that the F3 was off the base. Meanwhile, R3 had broke home. F3 threw home and got R3 out on a close play. after my out call, for reasons i do not understand, all of the field
  10. Lhaber9

    Base Awards

    This is my favorite misconception. this is what every little league coach has told me and they are all wrong. base awards on a throw from a fielder are always 2 bases. 1 base awards only happen on throws from the pitcher (if he is on the mound). If the pitcher disengages the pitchers plate, turns and throws over F3 out of play, its 2 bases. but if the pitcher uses a spin move, or brings his leg straight up and throws to third out of play, it is one base. For example in the yankees game during the playoffs last week, the yankees pitcher pitched the ball, it bouned off the catcher and went out
  11. Lhaber9

    Base Awards

    I was looking for the answer to where to place the runners in this scenario. With a runner on first no outs, the batter hits a fly ball to right field. R1 stays close to the bag (believing it may be caught). BR charges down the line. The ball is not caught in right field and R1 starts running to second. F9 picks up the ball and throws wildly towards third base to stop R1 from advancing. At the time of the throw both R1 and BR are between 1B and 2B because of R1's late break. The ball sails over third base out of play. Place the runners. On a throw from the outfield each runner should get
  12. no i was responding to a regular game, not necessarily a little league game. i think i may have gotten confused with another rule. in the same situation i said but instead of a quick pitch there was catcher interference called on the batters swing, the batter popped the ball to right and R3 scored on a sac fly. Then i believe it would be a decision for the offensive manager. I got this confused with the quick pitch? does this sound better? or am i just wrong completely?
  13. in this case i would indicate that it was a quick pitch by saying it out loud, but allow the play to happen. if the hitter gets a hit, that hit counts. the offensive manager can elect to either take the quick pitch or the resulting play. for example, Runners on first and third. the pitches commits a quick pitch, but the batter hits it to right field. on the catch the runner on third tags and scores. in this situation the umpire should ask the offensive manager if he wants the sac fly and resulting run, or if he wants the bases loaded with one less out. sometimes the decision will be obvious
  14. For the obstruction call, i think i would call this if the SS yelling "foul ball" caused the runner to retreat to first and was tagged out. in this case when he started to retreat to first base i would signal obstruction and award the runner second, not third because he would not have advanced to third had there been no obstruction. Although, a smart runner will not leave the bag until the umpire tells him to do so. in a LL game i wouldn't call the obstruction if the runner simply said "that wasnt foul" and stayed where he was.
×
×
  • Create New...