OBR (Babe Ruth), I was solo umpire at HP. R1, 0 out. With the runner on first, F1 engages the rubber as if he's in the windup (intentionally, he didn't forget the runner). With both toes pointed at the plate, hands together, he stands very still as if coming set, then proceeds to step ONLY with his free foot forward and deliver the pitch. It looked VERY odd, like something out of old-timey baseball.
I issued a balk warning (this was a scrimmage) and he switched to the set position until the next inning (see below). No argument from DHC. But now that I've thought about it, I'm not sure that it's illegal, because Babe Ruth 8.01 (a) book says, "he MAY take one step backward, and one step forward with his free foot." Thoughts?
Same pitcher in the following inning, same situation R1, 0 Out. Again he engages the rubber in the windup. This time, though, with toes pointing forward toward home, he makes a quick jab step move and picks the runner off first. I let the play stand because I could not find anything illegal - he used essentially the same move one would use from the set, except he was rotated 90 degrees closer because he was facing home. His pivot foot came slightly away from the rubber and he gained distance and direction to first in one continuous motion.
Question
Vikki
OBR (Babe Ruth), I was solo umpire at HP. R1, 0 out. With the runner on first, F1 engages the rubber as if he's in the windup (intentionally, he didn't forget the runner). With both toes pointed at the plate, hands together, he stands very still as if coming set, then proceeds to step ONLY with his free foot forward and deliver the pitch. It looked VERY odd, like something out of old-timey baseball.
I issued a balk warning (this was a scrimmage) and he switched to the set position until the next inning (see below). No argument from DHC. But now that I've thought about it, I'm not sure that it's illegal, because Babe Ruth 8.01 (a) book says, "he MAY take one step backward, and one step forward with his free foot." Thoughts?
Same pitcher in the following inning, same situation R1, 0 Out. Again he engages the rubber in the windup. This time, though, with toes pointing forward toward home, he makes a quick jab step move and picks the runner off first. I let the play stand because I could not find anything illegal - he used essentially the same move one would use from the set, except he was rotated 90 degrees closer because he was facing home. His pivot foot came slightly away from the rubber and he gained distance and direction to first in one continuous motion.
I'd appreciate feedback on both of these rulings.
Top Posters For This Question
2
2
2
1
Popular Days
May 8
6
May 7
1
Top Posters For This Question
Replacematt 2 posts
jimurrayalterego 2 posts
Vikki 2 posts
noumpere 1 post
Popular Days
May 8 2025
6 posts
May 7 2025
1 post
Popular Posts
noumpere
And, ... it's legal (except in FED) to pick-off from the windup. The requirements are the same as from the set, and it appears the pitcher met them.
Vikki
Thanks, everyone. Very helpful. I guess it's just a good reminder that just because it looks funky, it doesn't necessarily make it illegal.
Vikki
OBR (Babe Ruth), I was solo umpire at HP. R1, 0 out. With the runner on first, F1 engages the rubber as if he's in the windup (intentionally, he didn't forget the runner). With both toes pointed at th
6 answers to this question
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.