Jump to content
  • 0

Landing on safety bag


Guest AndersonCounsel
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 1215 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

Question

Guest AndersonCounsel
Posted

A batter is running into first base, and does not beat the ball being thrown there.

However, the first baseman had to jump in the air to catch the ball. In doing so, when he came down, his foot landed on the orange base instead of the white base. I have seen claims that if the throw is wild, the safety bag is acceptable.

Is there an actual rule? Is the runner out, assuming that the orange bag was the runners destination, and landing was incidental and not intentional? Or is the runner simply safe?

3 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Posted

The following is for USSSA softball, but I think it's pretty typical:

There's no penalty for the fielder touching the orange side of the base.    During a normal play, it's just as if the orange stuff wasn't there.   They were off the bag in foul territory and they aren't tagging the base.

There are three exceptions to that rule:

EXCEPTIONS: The defense and batter runner can use either portion
when:
1. The ball is thrown from the foul side of first base line.
2. On any force out attempt from the foul side of first base.
3. On any fair batted ball or errant throw that pulls the defense to foul
territory.

You'd have to decide if #3 applies in your situation.

  • 0
Posted

In the Little League Softball rulebook, that's the same.

In the Little League Baseball rules, the exception #3 is not there.  But, at levels with uncaught 3rd strike, either player may use either base.

I think your answer will have to be found in your specific rule set.

  • Like 1
  • 0
Posted

It DEFINITELY depends on your rule set, so check the specific rules you use!

Some codes do not even use it.

Some codes allow anybody to use any part at any time.

Some codes make the colored portion "disappear" after the initial play.

Some codes require the defense to only use the white and the offense to only use the colored portion. 

NFHS Softball actually states: "The batter-runner is out when there is a play being made at first base and the batter-runner touches only the white portion provided the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to touch the white or colored base."

Some allow those to flip-flop depending on the play. 

Check your code!

 

×
×
  • Create New...