Jump to content
  • 0
Guest Lyle

Force outs

Question

Guest Lyle

Runners on first and second. Fly ball hit to outfield runner on second tags and scores but runner on first is out at first by not tagging up. Does the run count?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1
Runners on first and second. Fly ball hit to outfield runner on second tags and scores but runner on first is out at first by not tagging up. Does the run count?

This is an appeal of a runner not retouching after a caught batted ball. If the run scored before the appeal at 1B, then the run counts. This is not a force play by definition, which is 'runners being forced to advance due to the batter becoming a runner. The runner originally on 1B is not forced back to 1B haha
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
7 hours ago, ALStripes17 said:


This is an appeal of a runner not retouching after a caught batted ball. If the run scored before the appeal at 1B, then the run counts. This is not a force play by definition, which is 'runners being forced to advance due to the batter becoming a runner. The runner originally on 1B is not forced back to 1B haha

You could say that again...

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...