Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'catchers interference'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Umpire-Empire
    • Introductions
    • Ask the Umpire
    • Minor League Baseball Umpire Training Academy
    • Umpire-Empire
    • Announcements & Milestones
    • Buy, Sell or Trade
  • Speak out
    • Free For All
    • Situations
    • Umpire Mechanics
    • Rules
    • Ejections
    • Umpire Equipment
    • Books
    • War Stories
  • Umpire News
    • Quick Tips
    • Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
    • Umpire News From Around the Web
    • Ump-Attire.com
  • Level of Play
    • High School
    • Collegiate
    • Recreation
    • Professional
    • Softball
    • Cooperstown Dream Park
  • Off-Topic
    • Off-Topic/Funny Stories
    • Photography
    • Humor
    • Other Sports
    • Announcers

Product Groups

  • Memberships
  • Umpire-Empire Items
  • Cooperstown Dream Park Posting/Advertisement


  • Interviews
  • Equipment
  • Game Management
  • Self Improvement
  • Health & Fitness
  • Miscellaneous
  • Get to Know


  • Equipment
    • Chest Protectors
    • Hockey Style Masks
    • Traditional Masks
    • Plate Shoes
    • Base Shoes
    • Shin Guards
    • Athletic Cups
    • Mask Pads
    • Other Equipment
  • Umpire Accessories
    • Equipment Bags
    • Indicators
    • Ball Bags
    • Line up card holders
    • Sunglasses
    • Other Accessories
  • Uniforms
    • Umpire Shirts
    • Umpire Pants
    • Undergarmets
    • Umpire Jackets/ Plate Coats
    • Umpire Caps
  • Suppliers
  • Umpire Manuals, Rules/Interpretation Manuals, Mechanics Manuals
  • Umpire Camps & Clinics
  • Books (pleasure reading)
  • Products no longer available for retail sale

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start



Website URL



Your Association Name


Types/Levels of Baseball called

Found 8 results

  1. So I know that OBR 6.01(g) states that Catcher's Interference should be called on the catcher if R3 is stealing home and the catcher steps on or in front of home to receive the ball, thereby interfering with the batters ability to hit the pitch. However, I've seen interpretations, that I agree with, that say the batter must stay in the box so that he's able and willing to hit the pitch for this to be called. Meaning, if he steps out of the box before the pitch arrives, the catcher's interference shouldn't be called since a batter not in the batter's box cannot legally hit the pitch anyway. So there are some who argue vehemently, and correctly, that 6.01(g) does not provide the batter out of the box exception. My question is, where in the OBR rule book, or any manual, is the out of the box exception mentioned?
  2. I think I had 2 of these all season .......... here, Fletcher gets 2 in one game! Both with Ellsbury at bat .... p.s. ... I didn't know AF was a southpaw ?!? Your browser does not support iframes.
  3. How, ...as a catcher .....can you argue this ?!?! Your browser does not support iframes.
  4. Simple, but always good to see / hear ...and watch the mechanic .... But, don't listen to the announcers for fear of ear-bleed! (Ripperger had quite a day) Your browser does not support iframes.
  5. Mad Mike

    Multiple Choice

    Hypothetical situations using OBR: (1) R2, outs don't matter. Pitcher balks, but continues his pitch. Umpire calls the balk. Batter goes to swing at pitch and hits catcher's mitt. Umpire calls "That's interference". Ball is not batted successfully. Do you give the manager his choice of penalties? Or do you penalize both? (2) R2, outs don't matter. R2 stealing on the pitch. Pitcher delivers. Catcher moves forward from crouch to receive pitch. Steps on plate to catch pitch. Batter does not swing. Catcher throws to F5 and retires runner. Now, I recall that a catcher's balk is only applicable with R3 and a squeeze attempt or steal of home. What would you have on this particular play?
  6. Jacoby Ellsbury (who leads the world in drawing C.I. calls including at least three this season) is interfered with but gets a base hit anyway. Farrell comes out to take the result of the play rather than the interference, which he shouldn't have to do because the batter reached and the runner advanced on the play. http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=29196755&query=catcher
  7. Question ....   Is this proper mechanics for catcher's inteference (using the 'foul tip' mechanic) ??   Honest question...........   Sometimes I see it, sometimes I don't ....   http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=24929703&topic_id=&c_id=mlb&tcid=vpp_copy_24929703&v=3   http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=24929703&topic_id=&c_id=mlb&tcid=vpp_copy_24929703&v=3
  • Create New...