Jump to content

WilsonFlyer

Members
  • Posts

    125
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by WilsonFlyer

  1. A clarification which must absolutely be answered before we can answer the question regardless.
  2. Wait. What? Ummm... No. This one as described takes ridiculous to a whole new level I'm not familiar with. What level of play did this farce occur in?
  3. WilsonFlyer

    Timed play

    That's funny right there. I don't care who you are.
  4. The question I've always been told to ask myself is, "Did the bat hit the ball or did the ball hit the bat?" The former is interference and the latter is nothing.
  5. According to Senor Azul's post, I see no provision for calling the batter out on a DDB unless the BR is put out at 1B (in this case), hence; the delayed dead ball. In your post, it sounds like the out may have been part and parcel to the penalty itself. As far as I remember, that is not allowed. We can't just make crap up. Sometimes umpires do and get away with it, or maybe they really believe they are backed up by a rule that they thought they knew. What it actually does is makes us all look bad.
  6. I've had it happen to me a couple of times over the years and I can't say that I agree with that as a carte blanche claim. I distinctly remember the last time it happened to me (and I had to put R1 back) and the catcher bobbled the exchange and took a step back instead of forward before he then stepped and threw. I was getting out of the way as hard as I could and his hand (actually more the ball) barely touched my mask. To be honest, I knew he didn't even know it happened, to which he later confessed and apologized. I really only called it because of, well, cameras. I'm just being honest and maybe I shouldn't be but it's the truth. It was a pretty high profile game and cameras and cell phone cameras were running everywhere. I knew I'd be criticized regardless so I erred on the side supported by rule. All that to say this. I disagree. It is not always us being too close. I see far too many guys missing outside corner pitches because they are simply too far away. I'll take my chances, and if it's on me, I'll own it, but I won't paint with a broad brush that I was in error because it happens.
  7. Apparently this is not as much of an uncommon problem as I had hoped. If we have a kid that pitches and can't seem to keep his hat on (It falls off virtually every other pitch at least.), what do you guys do? I can't find anything in the rule book to really help me out specifically. I had a coach get pretty snotty about it when I said something about it once. Is there anything that can be done, really?
  8. WilsonFlyer

    Balk or CI

    Why was the runner put back at 3B? If it was a balk, all runner advance one base, right? The BR to 1B nullifies the CI. I get that. What nullifies the balk?
  9. That "bare hand" just became part and parcel of the gloved ball. It's hard for me to imagine a scenario here where I wouldn't have an out. It's equally hard for me to imagine the scenario you described actually happening.
  10. C:/ has never been relevant.
  11. I cannot think of a situation off the top of my head where a batter hit by pitch is not a dead ball situation. I'm sure someone will come up with an exception here, which is partially why I'm posting it. I don't think it's going to happen, but I am curious.
  12. NC shut down effective midnight tonight until April 6 at which time it will supposedly be re-evaluated. Go figure there's rain today. Who'da thunk it, right?
  13. I think you'd have a perfectly valid argument, but in this case, you're already picking it up by the dirty end. I'm not sure the best thing to do isn't just to put it down as quickly and peacefully as you can.
  14. And I think I'm sure I knew that, but thanks for re-affirming it. That's what this forum is for.
  15. OK. Ya gotta tell us what ya did and who went ballistic. Details, please. And don't leave anything out.
  16. Senor Azul usually has the answer. Some don't like it sometimes, but he always has it.
  17. Everything in me wanted to dead ball this and call him out on interference with the dropped third but I can't get past the fact that (apparently) the bat hit a pitched ball directly while still in pitch/play.
  18. {I'm smelling trouble on this one.} From what you described, I've got a foul ball. Batter back in the box 0-2. Runners return. Assuming the catcher never made contact with the ball, of course and it all happened in front of him.
  19. {Grabs popcorn and indicator to count the number of posts after the answer.}
  20. WilsonFlyer

    Foul ball?

    I agree. 100%. Something in me expected more dissention than that and I'm not sure why.
  21. WilsonFlyer

    Foul ball?

    Here's a question. If you're on the plate, are you signaling that fair or doing nothing? Seems to me that signaling it fair gives the defense an unfair advantage when they should know this. Let the wars begin. See? We can start them on simple cut and dry plays.
  22. Kids these days. They're all future major leaguers ya know. #Stars
  23. I admit I haven't seen one yet, but this is where the catch-all "umpire's discretion" comes into play with regards to pitcher's glove colors. I'd have to see it myself during warmups, but there is leeway in the rule for us to have it removed if we deem it a distraction. Edit to add: I've Googled some pics of the gloves you're talking about and it seems that many of them have silver metallic as a primary color. This is a no-go with me as it falls in the gray in the gray/white rule. "Coach, let's find him another glove."
  24. WilsonFlyer

    Foul ball?

    First touch in fair territory. Fair ball.
×
×
  • Create New...