Jump to content

WilsonFlyer

Members
  • Content Count

    119
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

24 Neutral

About WilsonFlyer

  • Birthday November 27

Profile Information

  • Location
    NC

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Eastern Plains Athletic Association
  • Occupation
    Systems Engineer
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    HS, JV
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. According to Senor Azul's post, I see no provision for calling the batter out on a DDB unless the BR is put out at 1B (in this case), hence; the delayed dead ball. In your post, it sounds like the out may have been part and parcel to the penalty itself. As far as I remember, that is not allowed. We can't just make crap up. Sometimes umpires do and get away with it, or maybe they really believe they are backed up by a rule that they thought they knew. What it actually does is makes us all look bad.
  2. I've had it happen to me a couple of times over the years and I can't say that I agree with that as a carte blanche claim. I distinctly remember the last time it happened to me (and I had to put R1 back) and the catcher bobbled the exchange and took a step back instead of forward before he then stepped and threw. I was getting out of the way as hard as I could and his hand (actually more the ball) barely touched my mask. To be honest, I knew he didn't even know it happened, to which he later confessed and apologized. I really only called it because of, well, cameras. I'm just being honest and
  3. Apparently this is not as much of an uncommon problem as I had hoped. If we have a kid that pitches and can't seem to keep his hat on (It falls off virtually every other pitch at least.), what do you guys do? I can't find anything in the rule book to really help me out specifically. I had a coach get pretty snotty about it when I said something about it once. Is there anything that can be done, really?
  4. WilsonFlyer

    Balk or CI

    Why was the runner put back at 3B? If it was a balk, all runner advance one base, right? The BR to 1B nullifies the CI. I get that. What nullifies the balk?
  5. That "bare hand" just became part and parcel of the gloved ball. It's hard for me to imagine a scenario here where I wouldn't have an out. It's equally hard for me to imagine the scenario you described actually happening.
  6. C:/ has never been relevant.
  7. I cannot think of a situation off the top of my head where a batter hit by pitch is not a dead ball situation. I'm sure someone will come up with an exception here, which is partially why I'm posting it. I don't think it's going to happen, but I am curious.
  8. NC shut down effective midnight tonight until April 6 at which time it will supposedly be re-evaluated. Go figure there's rain today. Who'da thunk it, right?
  9. I think you'd have a perfectly valid argument, but in this case, you're already picking it up by the dirty end. I'm not sure the best thing to do isn't just to put it down as quickly and peacefully as you can.
  10. And I think I'm sure I knew that, but thanks for re-affirming it. That's what this forum is for.
  11. OK. Ya gotta tell us what ya did and who went ballistic. Details, please. And don't leave anything out.
  12. Senor Azul usually has the answer. Some don't like it sometimes, but he always has it.
  13. Everything in me wanted to dead ball this and call him out on interference with the dropped third but I can't get past the fact that (apparently) the bat hit a pitched ball directly while still in pitch/play.
  14. {I'm smelling trouble on this one.} From what you described, I've got a foul ball. Batter back in the box 0-2. Runners return. Assuming the catcher never made contact with the ball, of course and it all happened in front of him.
  15. {Grabs popcorn and indicator to count the number of posts after the answer.}
×
×
  • Create New...