Jump to content

roothog66

Inactive
  • Content Count

    77
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

12 Neutral

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    High School Baseball Web

Recent Profile Visitors

1,101 profile views
  1. roothog66

    Balk or no balk?

    Also once saw Turk Wendell pull it off twice in one game.
  2. The problem, Dan, is the ellipsis in your quote of the Rules. There is an important context in the rule that you replaced with the ellipse: "In a non-force situation." The first half of your quote correctly identifies "in a force situations" but then you go on and omit from the second half of your quote the very important qualifying phrase "in a non-force situation."
  3. roothog66

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    Haven't been on in a while, so I'm late to answer this, but, no, it is not like opposition to the other rules/laws/arguments you mention. Those all had statistics to back them up. I am unaware of any statistics involving the slug bunt - near-miss or otherwise. Are you? I can't even think of any near-misses I've witnessed, though there may be some I'm forgetting. Now, if you really want LL to take something up that's dangerous, move the mound back. One thing I have seen plenty of - both actual injuries and near-misses - is line drives back to the pitcher at 46 feet. THIS is actually a problem and the only real argument against it in LL circles is that changing the fields would be an economical burden.
  4. roothog66

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    Not sure I get the logical connection here.
  5. roothog66

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    I have spent over 30 years on youth baseball fields, including almost 20 years as a youth baseball baseball photographer where I spent 12 months a year standing on youth fields 10-12 hours a day often 5-6 days a week in all seasons. 10's of thousands of youth games at all levels. Never seen an injury from the slug bunt. Never. Any rules to outlaw it are simply solutions in search of a problem.
  6. roothog66

    Bunt to Chop Swing

    I'll be honest. I've been in youth ball for 30 years and had never even heard of the USABL - had to look it up. Seems to be pretty local to NJ. I've dealt with hundreds of rec and local leagues throughout the west, midwest and south and seen only a few leagues outlaw it.
  7. roothog66

    Walk or HBP

    A ball would still be a dead ball if the umpire's ruling was that a batter did not attempt to avoid a pitch that hits him. Saw this call last weekend. 3-1 count. Pitch hits the batter and umpire says "batter didn't attempt to get out of the way! That's a ball...Oh. It's ball four - batter take your base." Not sure why a batter with 3 balls would NOT attempt to avoid taking one in the ribs, but...
  8. roothog66

    Balk

    OK. Got a serious question on "Play 2." Given the 6.02(a)(4) comment the ruling seems wrong. If a "runner bluffs going to third base" how can this not be construed as a situation where the runner "creates an impression of his intent to advance?" A bluff is - by definition - an act meant to create a false impression of an intent. It was my understanding that this comment's purpose was to address this exact situation and take away the array of different ways umpires used to rule on this - "runner was halfway," for example. Seems that if the deciding factor for making a play on a runner is that the "runner did not go" in fact, then the comment has no purpose whatsoever.
  9. roothog66

    Walk or HBP

    A HBP, though I've always thought that a three ball count HBP should be recorded as a BB.
  10. Been there as a coach. A few years ago at 16u, my team in the field - bases loaded, one out. Tie game in a semi-final game, bottom of the seventh. Dropped third, B/R and all base runners take off. I yell at my catcher to step on home plate. PU calls the out and we move on. I immediately realize my mistake. Unfortunately, so does the other coach, who comes out and points out that because first base was occupied, there was no force at home. Could have easily been a double play if I'd kept my mouth shut because I think my F2 understood the situation better than me. PU counts the run - game over. Now, I'm an experienced coach who knew better, but just lost focus for a second. The other thing that bothers me to this day was another argument I DID NOT make. In retrospect, I'm pretty sure R3 took a right turn into the dugout and never actually touched home. The PU had missed the situation as badly as me. Lesson learned.
  11. roothog66

    Is this BOO ?

    Had an interesting one with this last weekend in high school playoffs. I was announcing the game and neither team was mine. Third inning with two outs and a runner at second with a 3-1 count. On the pitch, called a ball, R2 attempts to steal third and is put away by the catcher. In the top of the 4th, the same batter returns to the plate and strikes out. I assume that, if the opposing team caught it, they were simply waiting to see if he gets on base before objecting.
  12. roothog66

    Baseball Umpire

    Hah! (whispers: *Rosebud*)
  13. Hah! I was doing just that as I scrolled down to your reply.
  14. I only question its utility. I don't think it aids umpires in making calls and I don't think it aids players, coaches, or fans in understanding the balk rules. If this were actually a rule and not a comment, it would be a "catch all" rule that would cover unexpected situations, but as a comment, it adds nothing to the rules.
×
×
  • Create New...