Jump to content
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 4173 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

Question

Posted

No outs, no runners on, FED rules set. Right handed batter squares and lays down a bunt to the pitcher. Catcher comes charging out and collides with batter/runner in front of home plate and his contact causes the runner to drift well into fair territory before he can resume his path to first base. Pitcher fields the ball and throws to first to retire the runner. What's your call?

  • Answers 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
Posted

it seems you have an out...

in FED, i don't know, but in OBR, a collision between BR and catcher in this kind of situation isn't an OBS, except if BR interfers with the catcher deliberatly. 

  • 0
Posted

Welp, might have missed that one today. I gave the batter first on the play... in my judgment the catcher had a marginal chance to make the play as the ball was pretty much straight to the pitcher, and his contact definitely hindered the batter's progress and altered his path to first. That said hnnnad there not been contact the batter probably still would have been out at first...

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

  • 0
Posted
ai

No outs, no runners on, FED rules set. Right handed batter squares and lays down a bunt to the pitcher. Catcher comes charging out and collides with batter/runner in front of home plate and his contact causes the runner to drift well into fair territory before he can resume his path to first base. Pitcher fields the ball and throws to first to retire the runner. What's your call?

I agree with the other answers.  But, what if, as in the OP, the contact forces BR into fair territory, where he is then hit by the throw?  RLI?  ;)

  • 0
Posted

it seems you have an out...

in FED, i don't know, but in OBR, a collision between BR and catcher in this kind of situation isn't an OBS, except if BR interfers with the catcher deliberatly.

Only if the catcher has a legitimate play on the ball.


×
×
  • Create New...