Jump to content

HeyBlueLA

Members
  • Content Count

    5
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Thanks for the pics! I think, with a matte finish helmet, this would look pretty good. And it doesn't look like you needed to change the harness to use it on the skull cap.
  2. Thanks wolfe_man. Do you think these are really any different than the Rawlings that I linked to? I ask because I would prefer a matte black. Also, are you using this rig in games? If so, how is it working?
  3. I've seen some discussion of the Estabrook type combo on the forum and want to test out some thinking on it. My motivation, of course, is to find as good protection as possible realizing that concussions will always be a risk. It appears from the forums that he is using a Rawlings Coolflo Matte Style Alpha Sized Base Coach Helmet (https://www.amazon.com/Rawlings-Coolflo-Matte-Style-Helmet/dp/B010R05ONA). I am seeking opinions on combining this with one of the Unequal inserts -- either the Solo (https://unequal.com/solo/) or Uncap HDR (https://unequal.com/uncap-hdr/) to add to the protection. Based on what I've read in the forums, I am also considering modifying my current mask to add a DeltaFlex facemask harness (https://www.all-starsports.com/fmhpro.html) to make it easier to one-hand my mask onto the helmet. Has anyone done this or something similar? I am concerned less with how this looks as how it will work. One forum mentioned that the bill of this helmet might push the mask out too far. Comments (and please no "if you are afraid to get hit maybe you should find something else to do with your time")
  4. Thanks for the help. Senor Azul, this situation is not covered by the case plays you mention as they do not have an element of an apparent out made to a runner. Noumpere, I have never heard the mechanic you suggest and believe that are only two choice are "out" or "time" as we have to call something. Maven (and lawump), I appreciate your input and think you have this one correct. Because there is still a play possible for the defense, we would seem to have to provide an "out" call at third base. Also, practically, there is no way for U1 (PU) to know whether U1(BU) would protect the runner into third. I still have an issue with this if, for example, there were two outs when the ball was hit. Hearing the "out" call at third (for an apparent third out), the third baseman would not attempt a throw to second. So, the out call (which will later be reversed because of the obstruction) has prevented the defense from getting a third out on the play. I suppose we are going to have to just live with this one since, of course, it was the defense that committed the obstruction in the first place. Finally, senor azul, do you have a reference you can provide me for the underlined portion of your statement " Under Federation rules, obstruction is always a delayed dead ball. That means the ball becomes dead only after all runners have gone as far as possible so that the defense can record outs or commit errors. ''''
  5. In FED, runner R1 on first, no outs. Batter Runner (BR) hits a clean single down right field line. U1 rotates towards third. Between 1st and 2nd, the second baseman obstructs R1. U2 identifies obstruction, points and says "that's obstruction." Despite the obstruction, R1 rounds second and heads for third. The throw from the right fielder, just beats R1 and the third baseman applies the tag to the R1 before he reaches the bag. At the same time, the BR, seeing the throw going to third, rounds first and heads for second. The third baseman, after applying the tag, throws to the second baseman who tags BR out. In the judgment of U2, R1 would have attained third base safely if not for the obstruction. Questions: Assuming U1 heard the obstruction call by U2, what does U1 do when he sees the tag applied to R1 at third? What does U2 do? Seems like a tough one as U1 does not know -- in the moment -- whether, in U2's judgment, R1 would have attained third but for the obstruction. Even if he does (or, in his own judgment, believes R1 should be awarded third), should he kill the play when the tag is applied? In FED it is a DDB. Is the play over or is the play continuing given the BR attempt to take second? If U1 kills the play (by calling time instead of an out), isn't he taking a play away from the defense? If he does kill it, where do they place the BR (since there is no throw to second on which to make a call). If U1 calls R1 out, then does he go get him and place him on third after the play at second? To make matters worse, what if there were two outs when the play began? If U1 signals an out at third (that is later reversed because of the obstruction), the call has taken away the defense's opportunity to erase the BR at second for the third out. By the way, my association had a lively discussion on this tonight and the consensus seemed to be that U1 should kill the play when the tag is applied to R1 (although it is really U2 who should kills it but it isn't his call) and then place the BR where, in their judgment, he would have gotten to in the absence of the obstruction on R1. However, is that tag "the end of playing action" as defined in Rule 22-1? Or is the end of playing action when the out is made on the BR at second?
×
×
  • Create New...