Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'block'.
http://m.mlb.com/video/v31970597/?query=cubs New plate collision rule in action. I like the spirit of the rule, but right here I think it might have been misapplied. The plate wasn't blocked until the catcher had already received the ball. This wasn't reviewed, but upon review I do believe the runner would have been safe anyway as you can see the ball come out of the glove and into the bare hand before the runner contacts the glove. The bare hand never touches the runner with the ball. The PU was totally blocked from this hence why I say he would've been safe on review anyway.