Jump to content

blueman

Members
  • Content Count

    18
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    MSUA
  • Occupation
    Semi retiredeee
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    High school, JUCO, NAIA, DII, DI
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. I've been using the Ump Life holder the last couple of weeks for my college games. It is PRO!!!! I don't post very often, but when I do post, I mean what I say. The Most Interesting Umpire in the World
  2. Thanks for the offer, but after their response I will never own another All Star piece of equipment again. Nothing but BS propaganda. I will probably donate the mask to my local summer league umpire crew (teenagers). A college umpire buddy of mine had a Davis mask with an Ice Gray finish that I thought looked pretty sweet. The finish would not fade on this mask. on a finish issue ...really? Yes, really. I may only have the one mask out of 1000 on which the finish faded. It may have been the first one in the line for paint or it may have been the last, but for some reason it did not rec
  3. Thanks for the offer, but after their response I will never own another All Star piece of equipment again. Nothing but BS propaganda. I will probably donate the mask to my local summer league umpire crew (teenagers). A college umpire buddy of mine had a Davis mask with an Ice Gray finish that I thought looked pretty sweet. The finish would not fade on this mask.
  4. In April of this year I purchase a silver FM4000. A few weeks ago I noticed that my mask was not silver anymore, but was more of a dull gray. I contacted All Star and sent them a few pictures of my mask. After waiting several days without a response I emailed them again and received this reply: "I just got an update this morning from quality control. This is considered normal wear and tear and will not be covered under warranty. Paint coats are not designed to last forever, and do not affect the structural function of safety of the mask. Based on the amount used by the user a sport where th
  5. Rich Ives, on 12 July 2011 - 09:50 AM, said: Did anyone actuall look up the NCAA rules? Oh comeon Rich that would be too easy and logical. Its far easier to just ask the question here and then all speculate on the answer. (Sorry Im just feeling a little crotchety today but I do think that my main point that posters should spend a little time on research before posting either a question or an answer is valid)
  6. Thanks guys, but I probably made a mistake in listing OBR as a rule set. It should be just NCAA. I have found in the NCAA rule book that an assistant coach cannot be a player. However, I think this is aimed for games during the school year where assistant coaches are adults and not students. This summer wood bat league usually has at least 1 adult (non college player) at the game serving as the HC. I assume that a lack of adult assistant coaches has allowed them to have player/assistant coaches on the official roster. But the question still remains is if the player/AC is now the head coac
  7. College Wood Bat League. OBR/NCAA rules. Head coach and assistant coaches are ejected. They do have a player who is officially listed as a player/assistant coach. This player is in the line up when the HC and AC are ejected. By rule, can the player/assistant coach remain in the line up or does he have to be removed from the line up to become the head coach for the remainder of the game? Rule cite if possible. I do remember Peter Rose being a Manager/Player with the Reds back in the day. Just not sure if he was still technically the Manager when he was in the line up or if he was just a play
  8. blueman

    Anything?

    JM Here's a question for all: When should a balk of this nature be called? As soon as he takes an illegal posture? Or when he starts his coming to set motion? Example-- F1 in the stretch with the ball as in the OP. option1 -- From this position he comes set or attempts a pick-off. option 2-- From this position he legally disengages. option 3-- After a second or two in this position, he moves his pitching hand (holding the ball) to his side, finishes with the signs and then comes set. Option 1 is straight forward; it's a balk. Options 2 and 3, not so much. I expect so
  9. blueman

    Anything?

    Thanks for the replies. Personally, I think this position is illegal because the pitcher is basically hiding the ball from the runner. That is the reason the rule states that the pitching hand should be to the pitchers side or behind the back. Even with the gorilla arm stance the pitching arm is out in plain sight. I would have to think that if this was a legal position you would see a pro pitcher somewhere with this mechanic, but I can't think of one pitcher who does it. They all have their pitching hand to their side or behind their back. Even though I mentioned FED rules I don't think th
  10. blueman

    Anything?

    RHP in stretch position. He is slightly bent over at the waist leaning in getting the signal from the catcher. His gloved left hand is resting on his left thigh. The right hand holds the ball at his waist, against his belt, to the left of his belt buckle and almost directly above left leg.Anything wrong with this position? FED rules.
  11. Thanks for the responses. I agree that in most cases, with a slight upward movement of the shoulders, I would not call a balk. But, the other night I had a pitcher on two different occasions that took a deep breath where his shoulders came up and touched his neck. It was a very exaggerated movement. I did not call a balk, but the more I thought about it after the game the more I felt that it should be a balk.
  12. FED. Runner(s) on base. As pitcher is coming set he shrugs his shoulders as he takes a deep, relaxation breath. The shrug of the shoulders is complete before or as he comes to a complete stop. I have nothing. But what if he takes his deep/relaxation breath and shrugs his shoulders after he comes to a complete stop?
  13. Thanks guys. My partner and I saw it the same way and did not call a balk. I felt confident about the call, but started thinking about it on the way home and wanted some feedback from some knowledgeable people.
  14. FED. R3. F1 is in set position. As he lifts his back foot to step backward off the rubber his spike on his shoe hits the top of the rubber which causes a slight hesitation/stutter before he completed disengaging the rubber. He did not lose his balance nor did it cause any other awkward movement that might be called a balk. It is hard to describe, but basically instead of lifting his foot 2" to clear the rubber he lifted it 1 3/4", hit the rubber, and then stepped off. Balk or not? I cannot find anything in the book to support a balk.
  15. blueman

    Courtesy Runner

    Thanks for the input. I'm afraid I might have kicked this one, but I did not get any argument nor did it effect the outcome of the game. This doesn't happen that often so I'll file this one away and will get it right next time.
×
×
  • Create New...