Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'missed'.
Found 1 result
We had a play in a game yesterday I hadn't seen before and I can't find it explicitly covered in the rule books. Runner on second (no one on first), batter hits a clean single. Runner misses third base, passes the bag about 10 feet and attempts to return. The defense throws the ball to the base, no tag was made, and the umpire called the runner out. He said once he passed the base, it became a force play to return. I still contend it is a tag play. What do you think?