Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'Coach Pitch'.
I do not contribute too much original content on this site, but here is a story from this past season with insight on the level of ball I hope to move out of, an odd situation, and a failure on my part. Setting is an USSSA sub-state 7U coach-pitch tournament. I am working solo. With R3 and R2 and one out, B1 knocks one out of left field for a homerun. I move out to the center of the diamond to watch touches. Offensive team crowds around home to celebrate. Third base coach comes down to try to hold them back. R3 touches home with no problem, but R2 makes it to the dirt circle and decides he is too good to touch home then directly joins the crowd. As the BR is approaching home, third base coach realizes the missed touch and physically tries to hold BR back from touching home. The BR, who was upset his moment was being ruined, struggled with the coach to make it home. R2 realizes why this is happening and rushes to touch home. Even with the effort, the BR touches home a few seconds before R2. I enthusiastically point at home then freeze for half a second, embarrassed I turn and hope nobody saw. I then started to work it out in my head. I figured that R2 would be out on appeal because his retouch was nullified by the BR's touch of home. I also figured that the BR should be out for coach interference, but since no one seemed upset about it, and I failed to call it in the moment, I would leave that can of worms alone. The play stood with no outs and all runs scoring as there was no appeal. Later in the inning the defense asks if I called the kid out for missing home. I say, "No, there was never an appeal" "Like at any other base?" "Yes" "Oh". While no one was upset about the play, there was no protest, trash thrown on the field, or even argument, I was not happy with how I handled it. I feel that I should have immediately called the BR out for coach interference when my point and "instinct" told me to. Taking the run off the board and recording the out. Also then if there was an appeal, B2 would also be declared out for the missed base leaving three outs, only one scoring and the end of the inning. That being said I submit a few questions to the community. Can I call coach interference when the ball is already dead? If so what are the mechanics, do I still announce Time! or just declare the runner out? Does a following runner touching a base nullify any possible retouch by a previous runner like my current understanding of the rules? How in the heck are appeals supposed to be conducted in 7U coach pitch? Can I have a deadball appeal from a coach like FED, or do I need a 7 year old to actually get the ball from the Offensive pitching coach and tag the base? Thanks for considering this mess.