Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'Thrown Bat Warning'.
Found 1 result
Our Rec association (which is under Cal Ripken/Babe Ruth if that matters) has a variety of local rules, one dealing with thrown bats. The rule basically states that the first thrown bat results in a team warning, the second (by the warned team) is an immediate dead ball and the batter is out, no runners can advance. So this past Saturday I get my first 9U games of the season. First game has two teams with basically identical uniforms (Royals vs. Dodgers). About the only difference was the logo on the cap. HT only had 7 players (it was the last weekend of spring break here) and we have a local rule that a team with 7 can pick up an eighth player from another team as long as he bats last and plays one of the outfield positions. So the VT picks up a kid in a red uniform from the Cardinals (the next game) and off we go. First inning VT batter slings his bat into the catcher on a hit ball. Once play stops I (I was PU) issue the requisite warning to the VT manager. No problem. We play a few more innings and get to a HT at bat. The Cardinals kid is up, R1, less than 2 outs. He hits the ball into the infield and proceeds to nail me with his bat, right across the CP. Here is the mistake part. I killed the play because I lost track of what team he was on (I momentarily forgot who had picked up the extra player and thought it was the 2nd offense) and was going to ring up the out. Everyone basically stops. Of course, play should have continued and a HT warning issued when play stopped. So, the options seem to be: 1. Ring the batter up anyway and try to cover up the mistake (that's the "yeah, I meant to do that" option ) 2. Leave the B/R on 1B and R1 on 2B 3. Call a "do over", issue the warning, and continue the AB with the current count (basically ignore the pitch and hit, but get the bat warning) So to fix the error (hopefully this gets discussed before this veers into the ditch of an endless and pointless bat throwing rule/extra player rule debate which I am sure it will because it will ), which of the options above would you choose, or is there another option I didn't think of in the millisecond I had to realize my mistake? Cal Ripken plays under OBR with very slight modifications.