Jump to content

jroller

Inactive
  • Posts

    10
  • Joined

  • Last visited

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Other (explain below)

jroller's Achievements

0

Reputation

  1. Thanks, gentlemen. Follow up: I have generally not scored a ball that bounces off a rock, for example, as an error if the player was in a position to make a play and the unexpected and last minute change of direction made the ball uncatchable. Doesn't that sort of play require an unordinary effort by definition? Am I wrong here?
  2. Runner on first runs on the pitcher's throw home. Is well on way to 2nd when ball hits catcher's mitt and pops out on ground. Runner safely reaches second. Stolen base or passed ball? Bottom line question: if the runner's action comes before a passed ball or wild pitch, it should be ruled a stolen base, and if he decides to move because of the wild pitch or passed ball it is ruled as such?
  3. So even though no attempt is made at one runner, if an attempt is made at all, all runners are credited with a steal (assuming each is safe)? Interesting. I have been scoring it wrong for some time. Thanks!
  4. Why wouldn't it be? Maybe I should be more specific: ....without disengaging from the rubber first and without balking, as you could easily do to first or third? I cannot visualize how it could be done.
  5. So here is a related question to the topic brought up in this thread: Pickoff from the Windup Is it possible to be in the windup and attempt a pickoff to 2nd? The comment on the rule states that the pitcher may "step and throw to a base." Is that even possible to 2nd? If so, how?
  6. I agree that this certainly appears to contradict #2 in the comment; however, I think it bears a closer reading and further contemplation. 1) I suspect the statement is meant to dictate that once in the windup position (facing batter, pivot foot in contact) that the pitcher cannot reposition himself. He has to remain still. For instance, the pitcher could not, after being in the windup, then step further left (or right) on the rubber, or even stretch a cramp out of his hip. 2) If that line, in fact, meant that, the only way to lift his foot would be as part of his motion to deliver the ball; the pitcher could then never disengage the rubber! If the rule meant what it seems to imply on first reading, by rule, all a pitcher in the windup could EVER do is deliver the ball to the batter. True?
  7. Thanks. I understand and I agree. It is so commonly believed that a pitcher cannot pick off from the windup that the odds of the pick being successful are great, if executed properly... and it really is as simple as stepping to the base then throwing.
  8. Thanks, mstaylor. Two follow up questions: 1) When you say "either method" are you stating that all of the attempts in the second video are valid, legal moves? That is, the one attempt with his hands set in front of him AND the ones with his hands at his sides? 2) What about the last video will get you balked? Is it that he raised the ball to his ear? If so, why? Thanks again. Yep, I agree with this ^^^ And I would remind the umpires before the game that this is a move that you like to do. Don't try to tell them the rules. You could maybe fib a little bit and say "we got balked on this last week" so we thought we'd let you know that we might try this move at some point today. Then just make sure you execute it properly. Thanks also, johnnyg08. I have actually primed the pump a bit on this ahead of time. I contacted our UIC to inquire about the move and the etiquette for bringing it up. He said he would remind his crews of the rule and let them know to expect to see it this week. He, too, suggested I mention it to them beforehand to let them know we are the team he was referring to. As is common, we have a number of very young (teens/early 20's) umps who are learning the ropes. Generally, they do a great job, but with such an obscure rule for a move you rarely ever see (I've NEVER seen it at the ripe old age of 47), I wanted to feel comfortable using it at critical moment and know I wouldn't face an argument I was likely to lose. Thanks again to all.
  9. Apologies in advance for the long-winded post: Background Info: So, a couple of years ago, I read in OBR that a pickoff attempt from the windup is legal. This blew my mind since I nor anyone I've ever asked about it has seen it employed. Everyone assumes a pitcher on the rubber in the windup must disengage to attempt a pickoff, but that is simply not true per OBR 8.0.1 (a). Rule 8.01(a) Comment: In the Windup Position, a pitcher is permitted to have his “free†foot on the rubber, in front of the rubber, behind the rubber or off the side of the rubber. From the Windup Position, the pitcher may: (1) deliver the ball to the batter, or (2) step and throw to a base in an attempt to pick-off a runner, or (3) disengage the rubber (if he does he must drop his hand to his sides). In disengaging the rubber the pitcher must step off with his pivot foot and not his free foot first. He may not go into a set or stretch position—if he does it is a balk. Also, there is this: © At any time during the pitcher’s preliminary movements and until his natural pitching motion commits him to the pitch, he may throw to any base provided he steps directly toward such base before making the throw. Rule 8.01© Comment: The pitcher shall step “ahead of the throw.†A snap throw followed by the step directly toward the base is a balk. So, very clearly, it is legal. Why it is never seen, I don't know, but because it is never seen it should work; however, it is equally likely to be ruled incorrectly for the very same reason. Questions: 1) Playing in 12U Cal Ripken. What it is the proper etiquette for alerting the umps that we may try this during a game? Should I approach in a pre-game conversation? I don't think an in game argument will go my way if he calls a balk (assuming our pitcher otherwise executes the move correctly). 2) I have recorded videos of one of our pitchers working on it in practice. The first shows his normal motion from the windup. In the other two, you will see pickoff attempts to first from the windup. In one, Camden brings his hands together. I believe doing so is not a part of his "natural motion," as he has to pause here before pitching. Thus his next movement, a step back, is actually the beginning of his natural pitching motion. As such, a pickoff attempt from this position (hands together) should be legal. In the second of these two, Camden never brings his hands together. He steps on the rubber, pauses (to give runner time to move off of the base), brings his pitching hand and ball to his ear (in what looks like him scratching his head), then he steps and throws to first. I like this move better, as it positions the ball in a throwing position before making the pickoff attempt, thereby giving him an added advantage. This, too, should be legal according to OBR rules. Would like your feedback on each. (Note: these are not moves we have practiced and there is lots of room for polishing them up; we just did a quick shoot after practice tonight.) Here are the links: 1) Throwing Home: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uC46vjqiQXg 2) Pickoff to First (hands "set"): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdyEgTmf_5U (really, just the first attempt shows hands set) 3) Pickoff to First (hands not "set"): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9qEVGP9F8KU Thanks, Jim
×
×
  • Create New...