Jump to content

retleftolc

Inactive
  • Posts

    3
  • Joined

  • Last visited

retleftolc's Achievements

10

Reputation

  1. F6 was standing in front of the base and R2 tried to put his foot through the legs of F6 to reach the base. He couldn't, but thought he did. My thoughts were that if the obstruction caused the miss it should not be and out. If this is the case, would you give R2 3B or Home? ret
  2. I believe it would be a B obstruction. There was no play on him. Runner missed third and proceeded home on his own. So R2 would be out on appeal for missing 3B? Ret
  3. Im a coach and like understanding all the rules and situations I can. Be gentle, please. This took place in a PONY Mustang League. Im coaching third. Runner coming from second is obstructed just before he gets to third. He attempts to reach the base through the defenders legs, but comes up short. He proceeds home and the umpires discuss briefly after the play, and the game proceeds. Obstruction was called by the umpire. I talked to the umpire after the inning and he said that if the opposing coach had appealed the runner would have been called out. Does the fact that the obstruction took place before the act of missing the base make a difference? We didnt argue about it at all, just discussed the rule in general. This is a fall league and is very relaxed so the boys and coaches can get used to kids pitch. ret
×
×
  • Create New...