jimurrayalterego Posted June 10 Report Posted June 10 I think this was RLI whether or not the FED interp is used. I think the PU stayed focused on the ball. I have always thought that only the PU can call RLI and if I'm one of the BUs here I would not interject. I would expect a coach to come out to the PU and then maybe we tell him what we saw and get it called. Anyone differ and call it as U1? NFHS Network
BLWizzRanger Posted June 10 Report Posted June 10 I wouldn't. I wonder if the PU saw it as the F3 did move to the line possibly blocking the PU's view. It would have at least distracted him.
The Man in Blue Posted June 11 Report Posted June 11 9 hours ago, noumpere said: Didn't follow the link, but BU can get RLI (when in A) BU was in C, but . . . damn . . . even from C he could have seen this. It was bad. The runner NEVER entered the lane and was on the grass the whole time. PU potentially had a runner coming home, but not in a manner that would have taken him away from his duty. PU's duty is watching for RLI and a pulled foot (especially since BU was in C), but anybody who has it should grab it. I hate the whole "Why is he calling it?" argument. Because it is our job. I hate the whole "That's not my call" deflection. It is our job.
jimurrayalterego Posted June 11 Author Report Posted June 11 5 minutes ago, The Man in Blue said: BU was in C, but . . . damn . . . even from C he could have seen this. It was bad. The runner NEVER entered the lane and was on the grass the whole time. PU potentially had a runner coming home, but not in a manner that would have taken him away from his duty. PU's duty is watching for RLI and a pulled foot (especially since BU was in C), but anybody who has it should grab it. I hate the whole "Why is he calling it?" argument. Because it is our job. I hate the whole "That's not my call" deflection. It is our job. It was 4 man. U1 was in A. But I have to admit I had the opinion, learned somewhere, that RLI belonged to the PU.
The Man in Blue Posted June 11 Report Posted June 11 13 minutes ago, jimurrayalterego said: It was 4 man. U1 was in A. But I have to admit I had the opinion, learned somewhere, that RLI belonged to the PU. I didn't look close enough! Whoops! Primary duty, yes. Exclusive? No.
jimurrayalterego Posted June 11 Author Report Posted June 11 6 minutes ago, The Man in Blue said: I didn't look close enough! Whoops! Primary duty, yes. Exclusive? No. "Exclusive? No." Yes I have been reeducated form a past PBUC: But should should U1 have called it in my OP? 2 1
grayhawk Posted June 11 Report Posted June 11 10 hours ago, jimurrayalterego said: But should should U1 have called it in my OP? You're assuming U1 actually saw it.
Replacematt Posted June 11 Report Posted June 11 19 hours ago, The Man in Blue said: I hate the whole "Why is he calling it?" argument. Because it is our job. I hate the whole "That's not my call" deflection. It is our job. Sometimes it's not my (our, your) call for a purpose, as reaching into someone else's bucket in most situations means I (we, you) are more likely to get it incorrect as well as undermine the umpire who had the primary responsibility. This is not one of those times, and I think U1 (BU) gets a little more latitude in making this call in FED because it is less subjective. I'd be far less likely to pick it up in NCAA or OBR without being very sure that the more subjective requirement of needing actual interference with the fielder fielding the throw is met. FED has it easy--out of the lane, throw made, RLI. 1
Tog Gee Posted June 12 Report Posted June 12 What if neither the PU or BU know how to call RLI properly? (just a little RLI joke about NFHS confusion)
jimurrayalterego Posted June 13 Author Report Posted June 13 10 hours ago, Tog Gee said: What if neither the PU or BU know how to call RLI properly? (just a little RLI joke about NFHS confusion) This was RLI no matter what.
Recommended Posts
Please sign in to comment
You will be able to leave a comment after signing in
Sign In Now