bases empty, no outs, ground ball to SS who overthrows 1st. Batter touches first on way through, turns towards second, scampers back to first while ball is being retrieved by catcher who throws it to pitcher who was now standing next to 1st base. The batter in scampering back to first touches the base again, but slips off of the base and is immediately tagged by the pitcher and is correctly called out. Does the SS still receive and error in the scorebook? My thought is yes, because the batter did achieve 1st base, but in attempting to advance to second is put out. The announcers for this game indicated that the out "erased" the error because the runner was out. I have never heard of any error being "erased" except for when the coaches kid plays short.
Question
John F
bases empty, no outs, ground ball to SS who overthrows 1st. Batter touches first on way through, turns towards second, scampers back to first while ball is being retrieved by catcher who throws it to pitcher who was now standing next to 1st base. The batter in scampering back to first touches the base again, but slips off of the base and is immediately tagged by the pitcher and is correctly called out. Does the SS still receive and error in the scorebook? My thought is yes, because the batter did achieve 1st base, but in attempting to advance to second is put out. The announcers for this game indicated that the out "erased" the error because the runner was out. I have never heard of any error being "erased" except for when the coaches kid plays short.
Top Posters For This Question
2
1
1
1
Popular Days
Mar 30
3
Mar 31
2
Mar 28
2
Mar 29
1
Top Posters For This Question
SeeingEyeDog 2 posts
Velho 1 post
John F 1 post
Central Cal Umpire 1 post
Popular Days
Mar 30 2025
3 posts
Mar 31 2025
2 posts
Mar 28 2025
2 posts
Mar 29 2025
1 post
Popular Posts
maven
This is an umpire forum. Better check scorekeeper-empire.com.
grayhawk
SeeingEyeDog
I don't know if it's the correct answer, what with me being an umpire and all...but, yes, were I scorekeeping this game, I am awarding an error to F6 on this play, as described. ~Dawg
Posted Images
7 answers to this question
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.