Jump to content
  • 0

Passing runner


Guest Robert

Question

Guest Robert

USA softball says trailing runner that passes lead runner is out. But what if by some mistake the lead runner passes trailing runner. Would the lead runner be out since they did passing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Answers 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
32 minutes ago, Guest Robert said:

USA softball says trailing runner that passes lead runner is out. But what if by some mistake the lead runner passes trailing runner. Would the lead runner be out since they did passing.

No..."passing the runner" is a bit of a misnomer.  Think of it more as a state than an act.  If the trailing runner at any point finds himself beyond the lead runner,  (or conversely, the lead runner finds himself behind the trailing runner) the (should have been) trailing runner is out.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
4 minutes ago, Guest Robert said:

USA softball says trailing runner that passes lead runner is out. But what if by some mistake the lead runner passes trailing runner. Would the lead runner be out since they did passing.

It may not seem fair, but no. The trail runner is out.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

It's similar to batting out of order. The batter who is supposed to have batted is the one called out if it is appealed properly. Not the batter who took jumped into someone else's spot. It doesn't seem fair, but that's how the rule is written.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...