Jump to content
  • 0

Major league question


Guest Stella

Question

Guest Stella

An offensive player skids into home, the catcher tags him but his catchers mitt with the ball inside sticks under the sliding players arm. Is he out?

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

I’m not sure what you are asking…if you are implying that the catchers glove became detached from his hand, then no, it is not an out (assuming the tag beat the touch of home).  He did not maintain possession.

This also assumes the runner did nothing intentional to detach the glove

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
9 hours ago, Guest Stella said:

An offensive player skids into home, the catcher tags him but his catchers mitt with the ball inside sticks under the sliding players arm. Is he out?

 

@SH0102 has it, but think of it this way ........  in your scenario, ...does the catcher have the ball?  No, ...it's in his mitt lying on the ground, that cannot be "possession".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...