Jump to content
  • 0

Ball goes inside chest protector


Guest Warren

Question

Guest Warren

R2

Hit to right field. Throw comes in but catcher reads the bounce wrong. It short hops him and he gets it with his bar hand and it ends up inside his chest protector. Run scored easily. Should batter runner get a two base award since ball went out of play?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Answers 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

From the 2021 Minor League Baseball Umpire Manual (p. 51): If a batted or thrown ball inadvertently goes inside a player’s or coach’s uniform, lodges in the catcher’s face mask or paraphernalia, or is intentionally placed inside a player’s uniform (e.g., in a pants pocket), the umpire shall call “Time.” The umpire will, using common sense and fair play, place all runners in such a manner that will nullify the action of the ball going out of play…Any outs recorded prior to the ball going into the player’s or coach’s uniform (or lodges in the catcher’s mask or paraphernalia) will stand.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Note that FED is different -- it is a two base award, as the OP postulated.

8-3-3 ART. 3 . . . Each runner is awarded:

c. two bases if a fair batted or thrown ball becomes dead because of bouncing over or passing through a fence, or lodges in a defensive player's or umpire's equipment or uniform

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...