Jump to content

hat rules are applied when in one throw an illegal pitch and stolen base (moving base to soon)?


Recommended Posts

I assume the first word is supposed to be "What" not "hat."     Hat rules I am unaware of.

 

An illegal pitch is an immediate dead ball.   If there was a runner, it is almost always a balk and the runner gets the next base (you're going to have to describe the illegality of the pitch that you are concerned about).

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

29 minutes ago, flyingron said:

I assume the first word is supposed to be "What" not "hat."     Hat rules I am unaware of.

 

An illegal pitch is an immediate dead ball.   If there was a runner, it is almost always a balk and the runner gets the next base (you're going to have to describe the illegality of the pitch that you are concerned about).

 

Only in FED is an IP an immediate dead ball. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, LMSANS said:

This is a softball question, folks.

An illegal pitch is a delayed dead ball and a ball on the batter.

and (if I understand the OP correctly) does that override the runner on first leaving too soon? Or is she out?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Velho said:

and (if I understand the OP correctly) does that override the runner on first leaving too soon? Or is she out?

Sorry about that …senior moment.

a runner leaving early is a dead ball and the runner is out, so the illegal pitch never happens.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, LMSANS said:

a runner leaving early is a dead ball and the runner is out, so the illegal pitch never happens.

Yikes. No red flag, let's see what happens, come on back leaving early stuff there.

image.png.066f815dab24bf3bbf32799b200d3067.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
On 8/22/2021 at 9:22 PM, LMSANS said:

Sorry about that …senior moment.

a runner leaving early is a dead ball and the runner is out, so the illegal pitch never happens.

And this is true in both fastpitch (leaving early is before ball leaves pitcher's hand) and slow pitch (leaving early is before ball is hit/reaches plate)....in either case it's an immediate dead ball - "time, runner out, no pitch."

Other runners return.

As such, you can only call one runner out for a lead off...even if all three clearly leave early.

 

It's a little quirky for slow pitch where the umpire could conceivably rule/signal "illegal pitch" for a pitch that is out of the hand and on its way to the plate - eg. too much arc - but if the runner subsequently leaves before the pitch lands/reaches the plate it becomes "no pitch".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...