Jump to content

Fair to foul and batter doing stupid but gets far enough out of the way.


Jimurray

Recommended Posts

Braves give up lead on 5 pitches and 0 hits, a breakdown - YouTube

On Jomboy. Looks like PU got blocked and didn't signal anything on bunt. I'm guessing that U3 has a better angle than us but I couldn't overrule fair from the video angle. I don't have BI on the batter backing out because he was well clear but that is asking for BI with a steal of 3B.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

Braves give up lead on 5 pitches and 0 hits, a breakdown - YouTube

On Jomboy. Looks like PU got blocked and didn't signal anything on bunt. I'm guessing that U3 has a better angle than us but I couldn't overrule fair from the video angle. I don't have BI on the batter backing out because he was well clear but that is asking for BI with a steal of 3B.

I'm very surprised this got to the point of discussion. All of my 3 (or more)-umpire crews give up fair/foul on bunts to that side's umpire.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Jimurray said:

Even when the PU can rule on it? A La Cuzzi?

 

PU can if not signaled pre-pitch, but that goes back to "the look." If PU has nothing (as can happen in fair/foul, ball hitting batter/batter hitting ball, tag/no tag, etc.) the glance at that base umpire tells them to take it if they have something.

In this case, with/without the look and absent a signal, I fully expect U3 to come up with this unless screened (think of this kinda like a ball hit into the batter's foot--if PU isn't doing anything, any umpire can come up with it.) The fact that it was overturned tells me he wasn't, which is why I have some heartburn over how this happened.

With a pre-pitch signal, this means that U3 is the primary--that didn't happen here, nor would I expect it in this situation, so I understand him not immediately signaling, but once there was nothing from PU (which seems to be the case) he needs to come up with it if he has something definitive.

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

When I did 3-man with some higher level umpires, I was told with a runner on 3rd and U3 in D (R3 only, R2 or R2/R3 and less than 2 outs), on a bunt or dribbler down the 3rd baseline, I as PU have fair/foul up until R3 coming down line, and U3 takes it if ball gets past runner.  

Was told same does not apply down 1st since U1 would be positioning for a call at 1st and not staying on line to help.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, SH0102 said:

When I did 3-man with some higher level umpires, I was told with a runner on 3rd and U3 in D (R3 only, R2 or R2/R3 and less than 2 outs), on a bunt or dribbler down the 3rd baseline, I as PU have fair/foul up until R3 coming down line, and U3 takes it if ball gets past runner.  

Was told same does not apply down 1st since U1 would be positioning for a call at 1st and not staying on line to help.

Where I am, U1 on the line still has the responsibility--as U1 on a bunt with a fair/foul issue, I'm not coming off the line to make the call at first anyway.

The issue I have with the way you were taught is that it creates a no-mans-land in the vicinity of R3 especially with a RH batter. U3 has nothing to do on this play other than to have the whole thing in front of them.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...