Jump to content
  • 0

RHP hop pickoff move to 1B


rhinolith

Question

Babe Ruth rules

R1. RHP makes a hop pickoff move to 1B. The right foot (pivot foot) disengages from the pitcher’s plate, but in front of the plate. 
 

Can I confirm that this is considered stepping off, or not? It matters on base awards if the pitcher throws it into dead ball territory.

Thank you very much.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0



Babe Ruth rules
R1. RHP makes a hop pickoff move to 1B. The right foot (pivot foot) disengages from the pitcher’s plate, but in front of the plate. 
 
Can I confirm that this is considered stepping off, or not? It matters on base awards if the pitcher throws it into dead ball territory.
Thank you very much.


Never done Babe Ruth rule set but in others the pitcher has not "stepped off", in other words has not "become a fielder" - he's in the act of a legal pickoff move (as long as he steps toward an occupied 1B and completes the throw to F3/1B).

He can't fake or stop or not complete the throw, that would be a balk. In order to be able to do those things he has to step off the back of the pitcher's plate, and he is then a fielder and can do anything that a fielder with possession of a live ball can do.
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

To make it easier, a disengagement is a clear and obvious step off of the rubber.  The step must precede any other motions.  If you have to ask yourself “did he step off”, he didn’t, it was a movement from the rubber and would be one base

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
32 minutes ago, rhinolith said:

Babe Ruth rules

R1. RHP makes a hop pickoff move to 1B. The right foot (pivot foot) disengages from the pitcher’s plate, but in front of the plate. 
 

Can I confirm that this is considered stepping off, or not? It matters on base awards if the pitcher throws it into dead ball territory.

Thank you very much.

Is the foot landing before the throw? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Matt's asking about the free/front foot, which must land before the throw because the rule requires a step THEN and throw.

If F1 is throwing from his back (pivot) foot before the front foot lands, that's a step balk.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
Guest So to confirm

If he steps off  as a left handed pitcher with man on first , if his foot is still in the air , and either fakes or throws , If the throw or dent was before the foot hit the ground , it’s a ball correct?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
1 hour ago, Guest So to confirm said:

If he steps off  as a left handed pitcher with man on first , if his foot is still in the air , and either fakes or throws , If the throw or dent was before the foot hit the ground , it’s a ball correct?

I’ll say it on behalf of everybody…”huh”?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
20 hours ago, Guest So to confirm said:

If he steps off  as a left handed pitcher with man on first , if his foot is still in the air , and either fakes or throws , If the throw or dent was before the foot hit the ground , it’s a ball correct?

Yes, but don't split hairs on this

 

I should edit this:  By rule the pivot foot needs to land before the motion to throw begins.  in practice, we balk it only if the foot hasn't landed by the time the throw is released or if the arm motion begins before the foot motion.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

By the way.   Babe Ruth mostly follows the OBR.    In the case of playoffs and the "major" league regular games, the balk rule is unmodified from the OBR.   In the "minors" regular games,  the rules about what is a balk are unchanged, but the pitcher gets a warning for his first balk of each "specific violation" type.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
On 7/17/2021 at 8:41 PM, Guest So to confirm said:

If he steps off  as a left handed pitcher with man on first , if his foot is still in the air , and either fakes or throws , If the throw or dent was before the foot hit the ground , it’s a ball correct?

I think the user has mobile typo markers.   

the question is:

If he steps off (as a left handed pitcher with man on first ), if his foot is still in the air and either fakes or throws the throw or fent was before the foot hit the ground , it’s a balk correct?

The answer by @noumpere and in practice is as long as the ball released and hes touching the ground, not the motion itself.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
On 7/18/2021 at 8:08 AM, noumpere said:

in practice, we balk it only if the foot hasn't landed by the time the throw is released or if the arm motion begins before the foot motion.

And the reason for calling it thus is that F1 gets no advantage from the microseconds of difference. Runners get back when the pivot foot comes up, and they'll get back in time without enforcing this technical balk. 

Think of it this way: if they were leaning wrong, they're going to get picked off anyway, even if the throw doesn't start till the foot's on the ground. So really, no advantage gained, especially in amateur baseball.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...